Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

DSC_0036

I’m a Mark Bittman groupie. I love his recipes and have read Food Matters cover to cover at least half a dozen times. His Impromptu Fried Rice and Thai Beef Salad recipes are staples in our house, but until recently I hadn’t tried a single one of his dessert recipes.

Last week on our way to the grocery store I thumbed through Food Matters quickly to see if any of the recipes spoke to me, and I was immediately won over by simplicity of the rice pudding recipe. It looked easy, delicious, and all I need to pick up at the store was some coconut milk.

DSC_0049

As soon as the first bite passed my lips I immediately thought about all the other ingredients that would taste amazing swirled inside. For my next batch I’m thinking cocoa powder or vanilla bean. Or maybe a tropical spin?

DSC_0055

Vegan Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

2 cans coconut milk

1/2 cup uncooked brown rice

1/2 cup brown sugar

Preheat oven to 300*. Gently pulse the dry rice in a food processor, to scratch up the grains hulls a bit. Combine rice, milk and brown sugar into a Dutch oven or ovenproof pot.

Stir ingredients together and cook uncovered, stirring every 20 minutes or so. The rice will begin to plump up and the milk will thicken and brown. Continue to allow the mixture to cook as it turns more into a pudding consistency than a pot with rice and milk in it.

I found that it needed much less time to cook than Bittman’s recipe, but I also have an unfaithful oven that has the tendency to overheat. This whole process could take over an hour, so be patient. Allow the pudding to thicken and serve hot, warm, cold, alone, with toppings, with friends. You get the picture!

Digg This
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

  1. Sounds delicious and so easy! Looking forward to giving it a try 🙂

  2. Love how simple this is!

  3. java

    RICE PUDDING!!!! this MADE my day!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

