The Outdoor Yoga Mat

DSC_0015

Despite the bugs, humidity, and additional distractions I love to practice yoga outside. The fresh air, added challenge of uneven ground, and the sense of connecting with nature continue to outweigh the few cons when the weather warms up and my mat begs to be taken outside. And I regularly listen to the urge.

Luckily an outdoor yoga mat arrived at my doorstep just as the warm weather in Iowa arrived and the sun came out to play. The Kulae outdoor yoga mat is made from bamboo and has a full lining underneath that allows it to be used on grass, concrete, and on carpet. My mat and mat towel fit perfectly on top of the mat and I was able to enjoy a blissful outdoor flow.

DSC_0019

DSC_0028

As much as I love the great outdoors, my regular practice takes place in our spare bedroom, and despite some assimilation I still haven’t completely gotten used to the carpet that plagues our home and consequently my practice. I’ve slowly accepted that until we move my at home practice will take place on our carpeted floor, which trust me is better than cramming myself into our shoebox sized kitchen. It never crossed my mind that there was another option, or that an outdoor yoga mat made of bamboo could solve all of my carpet ridden yogic problems.

DSC_0026

The Zuura mat is by far the best addition to my at home practice, and although I have been using it more inside than outside, it makes practice on a carpet feel like practice on a hardwood floor. Now if only I could conquer my concentration problem, my needy dogs pawing at the door problem, and of course the whole boyfriend who continually interrupts me even though I have declared it yoga time for the 38th time in a row. Progress people, progress.

DSC_0024

What products have revolutionized your yoga practice?

Digg This
6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The Outdoor Yoga Mat

  1. WEENIE !! 🙂

    I don’t currently practice yoga, but if I’m working out at home and get down for floor exercises, Basil comes running from wherever he is and wants to play! 😀

  2. Jamie

    oh my goodness! i love the picture with the pup!!!!!!!!!!!!! i miss them!

  3. I didn’t even know that outdoor yoga mats existed! What a great idea! 🙂

    BTW your pup is adorable! 🙂

  4. Awesome pup! My dog loves doing yoga with me. His favourite pose is nose-up-the-downward-dog-butt. I’ve never been quite able to do yoga practice at home. How do you organize your practice? Do you have a set routine that you follow?

    • Haha nose-up-the-downward-dog-butt! I roughly follow the series of traditional Ashtanga yoga (I used David Swensen’s book) and then I add in some freestyle moves that enhance or modify the poses from Ashtanga. I used to do videos, podcasts, whatever the hell I want but it wasn’t yoga – it was just me doing movements. When I link breath to movement and move all parts of my body I bring balance, and that is yoga and certainly what I need! Feel free to email me if you have more questions, or want some extra info!

Leave a Reply

