Curried Lentil Burgers

DSC_0483

A friend recently asked me if I could learn to cook any kind of food what would I choose. I immediately thought of something rich with spices like traditional Moroccan food. When mentioned her desire to learn the art of Indian food, and I was I was in instant agreement.

These lentil burgers are a far cry from authentic Indian food, but the flavor is spot-on. I’m always looking for easy midweek meals that are cheap to make, easy to transport, and delicious to eat.

And these definitely qualify.

DSC_0488

Curried Lentil Burgers

1/2 medium onion, chopped

1 teaspoon ginger, minced

1 teaspoon garlic, minced

1 cup cooked lentils

1/2 cup walnuts

1/4 cup rolled oats

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon madras curry powder

1 teaspoon chili powder

Salt

Pepper

Oil

Cook diced onions, garlic, and ginger. When finished add cooked ingredients with lentils, walnuts, oats, egg, and spices to a food processor. Form mixture into four lentil burger patties and fry.

DSC_0499

What kind of food would you want to master?

Digg This
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Curried Lentil Burgers

  1. Hehe. Cupcakes. 🙂

    I LOVE Indian food…but I leave it to the locals to provide me.

  2. I get really intimidated by Indian food and would love to be able to cook it well! These look awesome! I really love lentils and they make such a hearty addition to veggie meals!

  3. Those look great, but I don’t know if I could handle my house smelling like curry for hours! I’m only JUST now starting to open up to Indian food. I eat everything else though.

    I’d love to be able to whip up some awesome Mediterranean food…my fave! Next would be some good Mexican..mmm!

  4. Glad you got the flavor so spot on! 🙂

  5. These look freaking delicious.

Leave a Reply

