Clementine Cake

Impressions of  marshmallowy hot chocolate and stovetops of chili conger up fond memories of winter, but so does the faint smell of citrus. Cuties were a household staple growing up and each winter the seniors at my high school would sell crates full of Florida citrus as a fundraiser for prom.

Naturally I succumb to the zesty flavors  by adding lemon to my water, eating a grapefruit a day, and buying clementines by the ton. Sadly Matt doesn’t share my love for the round juicy fruits, so I often find myself inundated with pounds of citrus.

When I had some free time last week I knew it was the perfect opportunity to break out my Kitchen Aid Mixer and attempt to make my first cake from scratch. And it was going to star clementines.

DSC_0583

I found an easy 5 ingredient cake recipe from Nigella Lawson, and after asking Matt to stop at the store to buy $15 worth of almonds, I had all of the ingredients on hand.

The hardest part was using the world’s smallest food processor to grind the almonds and the clementines, but I survived. And after a few minutes of hard labor, 30 minutes more of standing over my stove supervising, and a few excited screams to Matt in the basement proclaiming that I hadn’t charred the cake, we were mmm’ing and aah’ing.

DSC_0561

Clementine Cake

by Nigella Lawson

4 to 5 clementines (I used 6)

6 eggs

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar

2 1/3 cups ground almonds

1 heaping teaspoon baking powder

Put the clementines in a pot with cold water to cover, bring to the boil, and cook for 2 hours. Drain and, when cool, cut each clementine in half and remove the seeds. Then finely chop the skins, pith, and fruit in the processor (or by hand, of course).

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Butter and line an 8-inch springform pan with parchment paper.

Beat the eggs. Add the sugar, almonds, and baking powder. Mix well, adding the chopped clementines. I don’t like using the processor for this, and frankly, you can’t balk at a little light stirring.

Pour the cake mixture into the prepared pan and bake for 1 hour, when a skewer will come out clean. * My large cake was done in 30 minutes, but my stove runs warm.

  DSC_0568

After debating a bit over the question to frost or not to frost, I happily decided on a light dusting of powdered sugar. The subtle addition was perfect on the cake, and looked gorgeous on top of the small ramekins that I baked using the leftover batter.

Speaking of ramekins, I have a few of those beauties left in my fridge that really need tending to.

Digg This
6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Clementine Cake

  1. Heather @ kissmybroccoli

    I LOVE cuties! I an easily go through a 5 pound bag all by myself! Your little cakes are so “cute” (pun totally intended)!

  2. Ooooh that looks delicious! I’ll save this recipe because we just got a Kitchenaid Mixer and I’m dying to make a cake!

  3. how creative and delish looking!

  4. I looove california cuties! And I like how you put them in ramekins so they are portion controlled. And a little powdered sugar never hurt anything either. 😉

  5. Yum those look amazing! I never would have though to combine any of those things 🙂

Leave a Reply

