Cherry Vanilla Muesli

When my friend Aubrey returned from living in New Zealand she talked about kiwis, gorgeous water to swim in, and eating muesli and lamb in excess. Before then I hadn’t really given much though to muesli and I certainly hadn’t tried it.

DSC_0457

The next week when I was at the co-op I strolled past the bulk bins and noticed the muesli. I bought a plastic baggie of it, and let it sit in a glass jar in our kitchen for roughly a year and a half. It wasn’t until last week when I cleaned out the jars and simultaneously got a recipe from a friend that I realized that maybe I should be giving muesli another go.

Muesli is an oat based breakfast cereal and usually contains a mixture of fruit (dried or fresh) and nuts. It’s super simple to make and is really a matter of throwing all of the ingredients together and letting it sit in a bowl overnight until it’s ready to eat the next morning.

DSC_0460

Cherry Vanilla Muesli

2 cups regular oats

1/3 cup chia seeds

1/3 cup flax seeds

1/4 cup honey

1 tablespoon vanilla

1/2 cup dried cherries

1/2 c almonds

3 cups of milk of choice

Mix all ingredients together (reserve nuts if you’d rather preserve their crunchiness and add in when you eat) and put into a bowl in the refrigerator overnight or for a few hours.

Serve with fresh fruit, additional milk, or yogurt.

DSC_0462

Now if only I could bring New Zealand weather to the Midwest.

Digg This
9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Cherry Vanilla Muesli

  1. Yum! This would make a very good Valentine’s day breakfast. I always associate cherries with Valentine’s day.

  2. cool, i’ve never tried muesli. is it basically oats with fruit and nuts added in?

  3. I’ve never tried muesli before. This looks/sounds delicious!

  4. I’ve seen muesli, but I’ve never tried it. This looks so good- I’ve been on a real cherry kick! Dried cherries are the best 🙂

  5. YUM. this looks good. 🙂
    how many servings does it make?

  6. I discovered Muesli while living in Thailand and fell in love with it! I hardly ever eat it here, and I have no idea why. Thanks for the reminder!

  7. Michelle C

    Holy moly this sounds delicious! Just found your site and it’s great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

