Blue cheese mashed potatoes

I’m really good at following directions. Okay, that’s a lie. But I do make an effort to oblige with requests from hosts when they ask me to bring a specific dish to get-togethers. Yes, even if that means making something that isn’t a salad, or an appetizer, or something I’ve never even ventured to make before.

DSC_0078

Okay I lied again. So I have made mashed potatoes before. But it’s really a stretch to called what made mashed potatoes. You see, many years ago, long before almond, soy, or coconut milk were celebrated as dairy free milk options, my mom bought me lactaid milk. And many holidays ago, long before What Kate Ate existed, I royally screwed up a batch of mashed potatoes by adding some lactaid milk to a potentially great batch of taters.

My family still harasses me to this day.

I was a little bit shy about making mashed potatoes, (okay, so I’m far from shy) but I knew that as long as I avoided lactaid milk and added a wow factor to the dish, I’d be fine.

And with a little courage and a lot of dairy, blue cheese mashed potatoes were born.

DSC_0077

Blue Cheese Mashed Potatoes

Small red potatoes

Milk of choice

Good quality blue cheese

A clove of garlic

Bring potatoes to a boil, drain and place back into pot. Smash red potatoes, adding a dash of milk, a handful of blue cheese crumbles, and some minced garlic. Continue to mash potatoes and add milk and more cheese until you reach your desired consistency and flavor.

Fool proof!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Blue cheese mashed potatoes

  1. Love the placemat(I have the same ones)! 🙂 Pretty sure my husband would love this recipe!

  2. Wow what an awesome idea! I loooove blue cheese, and I bet its incredible in mashed potatoes. It’s also so potent, so I imagine you only need a little bit to taste it throughout the dish!

  3. Have you ever made mascarpone mashed potatoes? I have a recipe, but haven’t tried it yet. Basically the same as yours but different cheese. I want to try both!

  4. Oooh sounds easy and delicious! Never thought to add cheese to them! Brilliant!

  5. I love blue cheese! This recipe sounds simple- just the way I like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

