Eatin’ Gumbo

Picture 016    

On especially cold winter days I find myself dreaming of living somewhere much warmer. Tahiti immediately comes to mind, but truthfully when my hands feel like they are going to fall off and I can’t even muster enough balls to take the dogs on a quick walk down the street, anywhere warmer would do.

But since I live in the Midwest, sometimes I just have to bring the heat to the kitchen table in the form of some gumbo. We love eatin’ gumbo.

Picture 020

Soul Warming Gumbo

butter

1/2 a red onion

clove of garlic

1 pound okra

2 bell peppers

1 14 ounce can of diced tomatoes

2 cups broth

1/2 pound shrimp (deveined, shelled)

4 cooked andouille sausages

thyme and salt to season

2 cups whole wheat basmati rice

Heat butter in a warm pan, adding diced onions and chopped garlic. Once both are translucent, add in chopped peppers until cooked. Add broth and okra to the pan and allow to cook on medium for about 10 minutes.

Once okra is fully cooked add cooked diced sausages and allow to heat thoroughly. A few minutes before serving add raw shrimp, and serve immediately with basmati rice. Season to taste.

Picture 015

If that doesn’t keep you warm tonight, I don’t know what will.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Eatin’ Gumbo

  1. Well, as a Louisiana native, you KNOW I love this post 🙂

  2. I’m never tried Gumbo – but this is something I could get behind! I’m not a fan of soups at all – but thicker, heartier, chunky stews filled with veggies and stuff I can get behind 😉

    THANK you for your comment on my blog!

  3. That would be DELICIOUS for dinner tonight! I love that you can see the color from the veggies still. Most gumbo I see these days (in TX) are all brown and drown out all the flavor! Love this!

Leave a Reply

