The process

The past two weeks have been kind of wild. In fact, in a lot of ways they have signified the beginning of the end for me and yet the beginning of so many other things.  

In two weeks I have turned down the opportunity to live in Japan for three and a half months. I started an internship under the aquatic director of the brand new, state of the art campus recreation and wellness center. I’ve applied to take a summer class in Paris. I’ve been offered to spend the summer as the waterfront director at a summer camp in Maine with Jen. And I embarked on my final semester as an undergraduate student at the University of Iowa.

ui

Besides my inability to make choices, I’ve been on a true rollercoaster of emotions. I can’t stop thinking. Should we move back to New England? But, I have dreamed of moving to Wisconsin. Do I want to follow my dream of being a full-time yoga teacher? But I’ve spent years passionately entwined in aquatics. Ahh, I love the beach.

 

DSC_0234

Should I save all of my money and go to Europe or should I not sacrifice my quality of life for the next 5 months?  I want to be my own boss. But I love the comradery of a work place. Do I want to travel this summer or spend time with my friends wandering through the Iowa City Farmer’s Market?

sunflowers

Will I find a job? I want to live near my family. Will I even look for a job? It’s really cold in Wisconsin. Will Matt be satisfied uprooting his business? I want to live in Greece. 

greece

I’m learning to trust in the process. Which is good, because I have a feeling it’s going to be a long one.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “The process

  1. It sounds like you are getting ready to be on an adventure in life. I hope whatever you decide you are happy with. I think it’s great that you have so many different paths to chose from.

  2. Go and travel while you can because once you settle down then you may not have the chance to travel for a while. Go to Japan, or Paris, or Greece, or wherever you want to go. You’ll learn about other cultures, you may learn about yourself, and the time away may give you the clarity you need to make some serious life decisions.

  3. That’s a lot of stuff! And lots of options. But they all sound like positive things so either way you decide you’ll be happy. 🙂

  4. Wherever you go, I hope you’re happy 🙂 And with those options, I think you will be!

  5. Sarah

    Girl I feel ya! I just upped and quit my job a month ago and now I’ll be working a job making significantly less money than I was, but it’s where I want to be. You’ll figure it out!

  6. java

    its really not thaaaat cold… at least not that much colder than IA… youll figure things out. its a giant step and i think you are more than prepared to take it so dont worry because thigns will fall into place. 🙂 love and miss ya

  7. I can relate to this post all too well. The beauty of it is you have so many options. I’d say that’s really a blessing in disguise.

Leave a Reply

