No-bake Power Bars

As a youth swim coach I’m concerned about one thing: the athletes. Obviously that is a broad statement but you can imagine the areas of concern that arise when dealing with young, impressionable, and usually female athletes.

Coaches are educating kids about more than athletics. We are developing life long skills and ultimately serving as role models of character and health. But I’m no dummy. And I know the easiest way to anyone’s heart is through chocolate. I also know that showing these kids first hand that eating being healthy means living a life of balance. And both of those things can taste good.

DSC_0316

After our last swim meet of the season, the girls asked me to bring them a treat. I racked my brain for a few days thinking about what treat I could bring them that would taste good and be great post-meet fuel. And I came up with a semi-solution: Banana-Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.

But I knew I could do better. Plus, they were still cookies, after all. I knew chocolate would still resonate treat with the kids, but bars would seem far more appropriate to parents. And the no-bake power bars were born.

No-bake power bars (vegan, gluten free)

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 cup oatmeal

1/2 c agave nectar or honey (which is not vegan)

1/4 cup chia seeds or flax seeds

1/2 cup vegan chocolate protein powder or smoothie mix*

1/2 c chopped chocolate or dairy free chocolate chips

DSC_0314

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Press mixture into a deep baking dish and place in the refrigerator to harden. When bars are semi-hard, remove and cut into bars. *I used Vega Shake & Go Smoothie mix in Choc-o-Lat.

DSC_0321

Chocolate? No-bake? Peanut butter?

You gotta be kiddin’ me!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “No-bake Power Bars

  1. Mmmm…what a delicious way to re-fuel 🙂

  2. NOM! These look great. And this is my first time stopping in on a computer (not my iPhone), so I gotta tell ya- I love what you’ve done with the place ! Looks great 🙂

  3. These sound great! And so simple. Definitely a cheaper alternative to store-bought ones

  4. That looks like a great recipe – you can’t beat chocolate and pb!

  5. Hi Kate,Thanks for dropping by.I love such no fuss things..easy to make and good to eat.Very creative and power packed recipe.
    Infact, I saw that you practice yoga..I have been doing that for last 15 years nw..isnt it the most beautiful & relaxing form of exercise on earth 🙂

  6. This is totally my kind of recipe. Bookmarked!

  7. these look incredible. definitely bookmarked these!

Leave a Reply

