Newburyport

It’s taken me a while to realize that some of the best places I’ve ever stepped foot are the ones that are literally and figuratively closest to home.

I’m a New England girl. I grew up outside of Boston, spent my entire summers on our family boat on lakes in New Hampshire’s Lakes Region, and I spent a year at college in Maine. When I come back I’m immediately reminded of it’s charm.

Newburyport is a special place for our family. Just it’s name recalls memories of summer night concerts, fried seafood from the Starboard Galley, and our celebratory cruise the weekend before I left for my freshman year of college.

DSC_0163DSC_0194

DSC_0191

DSC_0166DSC_0165

DSC_0204

DSC_0159DSC_0196

DSC_0210

DSC_0212DSC_0202

Although it’s winter self is a drastic version of it’s summer persona it’s worth the chilly visit. The catch isn’t as fresh and the stores aren’t packed. The boats are all lined up like soldiers instead of floating in the water, and snow fills the streets.

But it’s just as charming. And it’s just as special.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Newburyport

  1. We just love Newburyport! We used to live just a few towns south but now we are on Cape Cod and missing the restaurants there! Oh and let’s not forget the spa…Interlocks! Love it!

  2. I love Newburyport so much, especially the restaurant 10 Center. Such a great place!

  3. You’re in my neck of the woods! I have many special memories of Newburyport with my family as well. Almost every week we used to go out to Plum Island and then stop in Newburyport for a walk or a meal on the way back.

  4. I grew up in the Lakes Region and I love Newburyport, it is extremely charming 🙂

  5. lowandbhold

    It sounds wonderful! I’d love to visit Newburyport someday!

  6. Paj

    I live in Newburyport!

    I was just looking for some new blogs to read by opening the comments on Eat, Live, Run and found this post. Since blogs can be from anywhere in the world, it was almost spooky to see Newburyport on your heading!

    Glad you had a nice time downtown. I got the impression just flipping through your blog now that you aren’t local anymore though.

  7. I love this post! We had such a great day. Thank you for the memories; I am so proud to call you my daughter! I love you!

  8. Pingback: A coming home | What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

