Pastitio

I constantly find myself gushing about Greece. I can’t help it, really. Almost everyday I’m reminded of the magic of my trip to Greece. Through photos and  dreams of future travels and marathons and yogurt, I’m regularly brought back to the month I spent in the land of Adonis’s and spinach pie.

And yet I have yet to cook an authentic Greek meal or share a morsel of a Grecian recipe on this so called food blog of mine. Needless to say I’m overdue.

Picture 1798

In Athens we stayed in a ritzy little hotel that was equipped with a bar that had an assortment of drinks, a menu full of Greek classics, and some of the most interesting bartenders/waiters that I’ve ever met. Most nights we’d hang out there at night and share bottles of wine and talk about life over a slice of moussaka or pastitio and then wander up to the rooftop patio and stare at the Acropolis.

Picture 1814

Pastitio

  • 8 ounce uncooked ziti
  • 1 pound lamb/beef
  • ½ c chopped onion
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • ½ tsp each of oregano and pepper
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 1 ½ c milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c Parmesan cheese

Cook pasta according to package directions. Meanwhile brown meat in separate pan, drain and add onion and garlic.

Once onions are translucent, stir in tomato sauce and seasonings. Reduce heat to simmer 10 minutes.

Spread half of cooked pasta into an casserole dish, top with lamb mixture and the rest of the pasta.

Begin making the sauce by melting butter and whisking in flour over medium heat. Cook for 1 minute, whisking constantly. Once flour has intergrated into butter whisk in milk, and cook 6 an additional minutes until thickened. Beat egg in small bowl, stir in some of sauce, while whisking continuously. Return egg mixture to saucepan; cook 2 minutes, whisking.

Remove from heat stir in ¾ c parmesan cheese until smooth. Pour on top of pasta, sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake 30 minutes until 350*.

I still don’t hold the hotel restaurant accountable for the fact that along with Baklava they served “American Apple Pie” and I can overlook the tiny detail that I may have ordered the Ice Cream Brownie Sundae on multiple occasions. I am a sucker for when in Rome (or Athens) but my heart belongs to brownies.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Pastitio

  1. I SO want to go to Greece!! It’s definitely in my top five places I want to visit…and soon!

  2. That looks delicious (and super easy)! I love Greek food but I’ve never tried to make my own.

  3. That’s how I felt for the 6 or 12 months after my trips abroad. There is something so absolutely indescribable and wonderful about being in a foreign country…especially if you are there for a long time.
    Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

