Yogini’s Guide to Gift Giving

According to Yoga Journal 10 million non-practitioners stated they will definitely try yoga in the next year. Factor in New Years Resolutions, and I think you  might end up having one of these soon-to-be-yogis on your gift list.

Below are some products that revolutionized my practice. In some ways it’s a simple list, but in other ways it covers exactly all the right bases.

Jade Yoga Mat

jade

Yogis tend to be loyal to certain mat brands, and for me it’s JadeYoga. I love the fact that they are non-slip and made from renewable resources and for each mat sold JadeYoga plants a tree.

Yogitoes Skidless Towel

yogitoes-thumb

I’m a sweaty girl. And slipping and sliding all over my yoga mat was neither productive nor fun. Yogitoes don’t come cheap, but it’s been worth every penny.

Manduka Block

manduka
I only recently began using yoga blocks in my day to day practice. Although I can’t say that I think they are as necessary as BKS Iyengar does, I do think that they can be incorporated into almost any practice.

MC Yogi CD

mc

One of the highlights of the Iowa City Yoga Festival was rocking out to MC Yogi’s tune. His upbeat music is every bit spiritual as it is entertaining.

David Swenson’s Ashtanga Yoga Practice Manual

 david
I’m an Ashtangi and this book is my yogic bible. David Swenson explains and demonstrates the traditional Ashtanga series in this practice manual that makes a personal at-home practice possible.

Yoga Journal Magazine Subscription

Yoga_Journal_2007_08

I can’t say I agree with every article in Yoga Journal (or am pleased that I have failed to see a male on the cover in recent times), but I generally think it’s a great resource. It has intriguing articles and easy to follow sequences, and it’s pretty to look at.

Class Pass

 class

Perhaps the best and most personal gift is a pass to a local yoga studio. So many studios offer great introductory offers to new students and nothing motivates people more than a pass that they have to use up.

What yoga item is on your holiday wish list?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Yogini’s Guide to Gift Giving

  1. I’ve always wanted to try that hot yoga where the rooms are really hot and you sweat buckets! But the closest place is an hour away from me – and its at 7:00 a.m. in the morning on a Saturday!

    Thanks for all the other tips though – didn’t know about the skidless towels!

    Have a great Monday!

    • 7am on a Saturday and an hour away? Ugh! Would you think Im crazy if I said maybe its worth going even once? You should see if any of your friends want to join you and make a little trip out of it.

  2. A class pass! I used to go to yoga when I had a membership to the YMCA close by, but since I got rid of my membership I haven’t been able to go 😦

  3. nutritionella

    I’ve been running for years and recently started going to yoga 1-2 times per week. I LOVE how it’s reshaping my body & making over my muscles… I’m sold on it, for life. Thanks for the great product recommendations – I’ll definitely be getting some of these!

  4. ay, yay, yay, I *LOVE* MC Yogi… *ganesh is fresh!!

    I first saw him a couple years ago, Beloved Festival maybe? I cannot recall which one, but oh I LOVE him and listen to him a lot. You cannot help buy smile. ❤

  5. Nora

    Kate, I’m still loving your blog…so fun to read. Hope all is well!

  6. I’ve been running for years and recently started going to yoga 1-2 times per week. I LOVE how it’s reshaping my body & making over my muscles… I’m sold on it, for life. Thanks for the great product recommendations – I’ll definitely be getting some of these!

Leave a Reply

