Front Street Brewery

Matt and I usually kick off the holiday season by emptying our pockets the day after Thanksgiving, but this year we decided to start our own tradition. With my parents in Mexico soaking up the sun and Matt’s family pulling an all-nighter to score the best deals, we decided to do what we do best: Eat and Drink.

After sleeping in and allowing our bellies to fully restore themselves, we got in our car and headed up to Davenport to check out a brewery that had been on our must-visit list for sometime.

Picture 1833

Picture 1840

We ordered a few appetizers and the beer tasting which featured 6 beers including Old Davenport Gold, Bucktown Stout, and Raging River Ale – a true English Ale named after the flood of 1993.

The sampler also included Hefe-Weizen, a fantastic German style beer and two of the best beers I’ve tasted to date. The Brewmaster’s Special was one of the best pumpkin ales I’ve tasted. The flavor was fantastic, and had hints of spices that really brought out the pumpkin flare. It certainly beat out the sampling of pumpkin ales that we’ve drank our way through this fall.

Picture 1841

And then there was the Cherry Ale. The cherry was a refreshing twist and reminded me of my love of fruit-inspired beers.

Picture 1845

Matt and I really make the most perfect tasting partners. I’m all for the light, English ales and he loves the dark stouts. And we both agree that nachos is the perfect food to accompany beer tasting.

Picture 1847

Not a bad way to kick off the holiday season!

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Front Street Brewery

  1. I love getting lots of different beers to try! The dark stouts are definitely my favorite in winter!

  2. Cherry ale? Yum! I went to a Front Street Brewery this summer…probably just a coincidence though- I don’t think there’s more than one 🙂

  3. Yum, pumpkin ale! I have one in my fridge 🙂

  4. Have you tried Kriek? It’s cherry flavoured lambic. I drank my fair share in Belgium, because it’s SO expensive here.

  5. We live about 30 min from Davenport, why haven’t I heard of this place???

  6. I want to try all of those beers. They sound fabulous. I’m with you that that is not a bad way to kick off the season at all. 😀

  7. That looks like so much fun! I’ve always wanted to try tasting a bunch of beer flavors.

  8. No, but that sounds like something I would love! Thanks for the suggestion!

  9. Pingback: Wineries & Breweries | What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

