Veg

I’ll admit that sometimes I run out of ways to make sides of vegetables seem appealing. Peas. Asparagus. Zucchini. Sometimes you just want something that is more fun to make.

And that’s where cauliflower and leek mash comes in. The vegetable selections in our house may be a far cry from the traditional frozen bags of carrots and peas, but cauliflower and leeks certainly are more enticing and exciting than spinach for the fourth time this week. And don’t even get me started on the 10 pound box of sweet potatoes that have been begging me to roast them for days.

Picture 1825

Cauliflower + Leek Mash

  • 2 heads of cauliflower (you could opt for frozen here)
  • leeks
  • garlic
  • heavy cream
  • butter
  • salt
  • pepper

Picture 1832

Steam or microwave cauliflower heads. While cauliflower is cooking, add some butter and chopped garlic to a sauté pan and toss in sliced leeks. If you are new to leeks, fear not, we all started somewhere, check out this intro to leeks. Blend together cauliflower, leeks, and a dash of heavy cream by using either an immersion blender or a standard blender, like me. Season with salt and pepper and serve warm.

Leave this out on Christmas Eve and I bet Santa will drop off an immersion blender under your tree. At least that’s my plan of attack.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Veg

  1. Ooo I just got an immersion blender! Now I have something to do with it besides froth milk 🙂

  2. I love the idea of adding leeks to a cauli-mash!

  3. Although I don’t use it too often, I love having an immersion blender. The idea of using a regular blender to transfer hot liquid around scares the hell out of me!

  4. Kate! Love your blog and your story 🙂 This recipe reminds me of my cauliflower “mashed potatoes”. I’m always looking for a new way to get my veggies in, especially one that sounds as tasty as this!

  5. I hope Santa brings you an immersion blender – I love mine! In fact, my mother-in-law will be receiving one from my husband and I for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

