Peas make risotto

From the wine to the special kind of rice required, risotto always seemed to imply complexity to me. And when you factor in the notion that mushrooms tend to be the star ingredient, well I just wasn’t sold. It wasn’t until I had my first taste of homemade risotto at my friend Aubrey’s house that I declared love.

I bought the Arborio rice over a month ago, and I had been dreaming up flavor combinations ever since. But I just couldn’t decide. Lemon sounded great, but a bit too spring for our snowy weather. Butternut seemed overdone. Cranberries, rosemary, orange? Pomegranate sounded interesting, but like I’d be spending more time cleaning up than enjoying my dish. Asparagus was out of season; four cheese wouldn’t due. And clearly fungus would not be making an appearance.

But peas would work. Simple, basic. An unsung vegetable hero in our house. Plus I wanted an easy attempt at my first hoorah.

Picture 1869

I invited our friends Aubrey and Adam over and we got to work. Aubrey gave me the full risotto tutorial .We started by adding 1 1/2 tbsp of butter to the pan. Once the butter melted in went some onions and eventually 2 cups of Arborio rice. Once the rice had browned a bit, we slowly added 1/4 cup of white wine, followed by 1/2 cups of vegetable broth at a time, slowly working the broth into the rice and continuing until the rice was fluffy and ready for the peas and a hefty serving of parmesan cheese.

Although it was a little bit more labor intensive than my usual dinner, the results seemed to be worth the work. Plus it made for the perfect opportunity to chat with friends, sit around in our kitchen, and allow our boyfriends to drink a few  more beers than usual on a Wednesday night.

What is your favorite risotto combination?

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Peas make risotto

  1. Oooh, I LOVE risotto with peas! It’s like a fancy, yummier version of peas and rice 🙂

  2. Oooh, I love risotto with peas! Such a simple, delicious combination.

  3. YUM! I love risotto. I’m also not one for mushrooms much so I usually use other veggies like carrots and celery. I mostly don’t like celery either but it works well with risotto!

  4. I’ll confess to loving mushrooms, in many things including risotto. I do like peas in Shepherd’s Pie, though.

  5. Yum! I heart risotto of all kinds – delish.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog – always fun to hear from fellow New Englanders (or ex-pats!).

    Laura

  6. I’ve never made risotto before but it’s something I’d like to try. I bet this dish would be good with some shredded chicken added.

  7. That looks so good! I have a huge container of Arborio I need to break out sometime soon 🙂

  8. I’m totally with you – risotto really intimidates me and i’m not sure why! I recently re-discovered peas and have been loving them lately in salads. Great idea for the risotto!

  9. I’ve never had risotto before! All of the combinations you mentioned sound good to me. I think my mom has made it with asparagus before. Peas sound so good, and I always have a bag in my freezer!

  10. mmmm peas =) my FAVORITE!

    I love a good mushroom gouda risotto as well. my tummy is rumbling just thinking about it!

    xoXOxo

Leave a Reply

