Apple and Carrot Pancakes

Hi, I’m Stephanie from The Brunette Foodie! If you aren’t familiar, TBF is a blog that makes complicated cooking simple. My goal with each post is to make it easy for someone who has never even turned on an oven to make a delicious meal. I’m a stay-at-home mom to an adorable little boy named Samuel who is 4 months old, and I also run a menu planning service for parties and dinner events.

That said I am not a healthy living blogger. If you need proof, I give you Exhibits A, B, and C. I do enjoy a healthy meal now and again, and if you look at my menus you’ll see lots of healthy foods, but I have a weakness for all things sweet & savory. I am an avid competitive runner, so I’ve got that going for me.

Anyway, I met Kate via Twitter. {Isn’t that how we all meet now?} She was looking for some guest bloggers, and I was up for the challenge. Of course, Kate is obviously WAY healthier than I am. So I panicked after I volunteered. I didn’t think French Toast BLTs would be appropriate here. So what would I do?

Then the Google Reader gods bestowed upon me a great gift: The Nesting Project’s Carrot Cake Pancakes recipe. It became a jumping off point for one of my most creative pancake recipes ever. Creative in a good way. Really.

Apple & Carrot Pancakes

Ingredients:

– 1 cup all-purpose flour

– 1 tsp baking soda

– 1 tsp baking powder

– ½ tsp salt

– ¾ cup low fat buttermilk

– 2 eggs

– 1 ½ tsp cinnamon

– ¼ tsp ground ginger

– ¾ tsp nutmeg

– ½ cup carrot

– 1 small apple

Directions:

1. Grate the carrots and set aside. Chop the apple into small pieces and also set aside.

5

2. In a medium bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, buttermilk, and eggs. Mix well.

1

3. Mix the apple and carrot into the flour mixture. The batter will be lumpy.

2

4. Heat a griddle to 300 degrees. Spray with cooking spray. Using a ladle, spoon the batter onto the griddle. Cook until brown and then flip.

3

5. Serve with butter and syrup.

4

I hope you all enjoyed my little guest post, and I hope you’ll swing by TBF to say hello! I always love new readers. You can also find me on Facebook & Twitter.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Apple and Carrot Pancakes

  1. Thanks for the guest post Stephanie! These pancakes look divine.

Leave a Reply

