Lovin’ Kale

Cookbooks, farmers markets, and food blogs have really opened us up to a world of ingredients. Matt and I hadn’t been exposed to half of the things we eat now before a couple of years ago.

When we first moved in together our freezer overflowed, there was never a macaroni and cheese shortage, and vegetables came to our fridge to wither and die.

And here we are now lovin’ on kale.

Picture 1742

It’s a versatile, leafy little green. And it’s not expensive. You can crisp it up in the oven and crunch on kale chips, add leafs to smoothies for a dose of green, or use it as the bed of a robust salad.

Picture 1752

And unlike lettuce, it actually tastes good cooked.

Picture 1757

Picture 1763

Do you love kale? What’s your favorite way to incorporate it into meals?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Lovin’ Kale

  1. i love kale too…especially when it’s in pastas and soups! it’s the perfect hearty texture 🙂

  2. Yep– I can’t get enough! We’re having it in a soup tonight…it’s such a super food!

  3. I am actually not sold on kale yet. I tried to make kale chips and they tasted like leaves. Not very good 😦

  4. i LOVE kale too 🙂 my fav green! besides sprouts 🙂

  5. I am a recent devotee to kale. First time I tried it I wasn’t a fan, but then I played around with it more and love it. And it’s SO super healthy, which is obviously a huge benefit. I love it mixed with butternut squash and chickpeas over quinoa. I eat that combo at least once a week.

  6. Joan Alton

    I am just trying to get kale into our diet. I have tried it in a soup, but the soup was rather bland. Do you have any good recipes?

    • It can be a bit bitter so you have to add a decent amount of spices or other strong flavors to the dish. Try making kale chips by tossing the leaves on a cookie sheet with a bit of salt and pepper and letting them cook at 350 or so until they are crunchy like chips. Make sure you remove the rib from the leaves before you bake them though!

  7. I’m obsessed with kale!! I love it sauteed with some olive oil, garlic and salt!

  8. Loribeth

    My boyfriend discovered kale on some body building website because it has some really important nutritional value or something…He likes it cooked similarly to collard greens, sautéed with onions and garlic and olive oil. I didn’t like it until I figured out how to make it not taste like undercooked slices of rubber. I found that the key was low heat for a longer amount of time and then finishing it up for a few minutes on high heat. But after I figured it out, we both ended up loving it!

Leave a Reply

