Iowa City Yoga Festival

I refrained from recapping the Iowa City Yoga Festival for almost a month because a large part of me was still digesting the weekend of events. The best way I can describe the weekend would be pleasantly overwhelming. Do you ever get the feeling that you are exactly where you are meant to be?

Friday night we kicked off the weekend with an opening speech from Iowa native Sadie Nardini. In her true rock star of yoga fashion she closed her address with a Bon Jovi chant and the crowd was brought to our feet. We spent the next half an hour being led through Bollywood dancing, rapping with MC Yogi, and smiling from ear to ear.

The next two days consisted of a series of workshops being led by local and nationally renowned yoga instructors. I opened my heart with Brock and Krista Cahill, tuned into my breathe with Max Strom, and I learned the art of running a yoga business by the coach himself, Alon Sagee.

I laughed, I cried, I stretched my mind and body beyond their limits. And I was reminded why I choose to be part of such an amazing community that changes lives.

Every day I use yoga as a tool in my life to bring me closer to the being I desire to be. And that’s definitely something to be thankful for.

Picture 1686

Have you been to any yoga events? What has your experience been like?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Iowa City Yoga Festival

  1. I’ve never been to a yoga event, but they always sound like fun! Great vibes, I’m sure 🙂

  2. I want to go to yoga events! we’ve been looking for a yoga course (a trip to Europe) but so far they’ve been all too expensive.

  3. Pingback: Why Iowa City? | What Kate Ate

  4. Pingback: Life List | What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

