Stillwater Olive Oil Co.

Before my trip to Stillwater, Minnesota I had never been to an olive oil tasting room. In fact, I’m embarrassed to admit that I didn’t even realize they existed.

Picture 1502

Picture 1515 

As serendipity would have it, we managed to stumble our way into the Stillwater Olive Oil Company on a cold, rainy day and sampled oils and vinegars to our hearts content.

Picture 1503

Picture 1504

My favorite tastes were the sweet, fruity balsamic vinegars.

Picture 1506 

I loved the fig and the dark chocolate.

Picture 1508 

And especially took to the white coconut balsamic vinegar. Truthfully, I’ve been dreaming about the coconut balsamic vinegar since October.

Picture 1510 

I considered ordering it online, but after doing a little research I found that Boston has it’s own olive oil company stocked with extra virgin olive oils and balsamic vinegars in all colors and flavors.

Picture 1511 

Mom, Dad – on our way to Mike’s Pastry we’ll have to stop at the olive oil company – if I can wait until the holidays!

Picture 1513

Have you dove into the world of flavored oils and vinegars?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Stillwater Olive Oil Co.

  1. How cool! I love specialty olive oils and vinegars!

  2. My sister lives in Geneva IL and they have a similar type of store with olive oils and balsamic vinegars. It’s pretty cool!

  3. I had no idea they did olive oil tasting either! I’ve tasted oils at the Farmer’s Market and for specialty oils stocked in the William-Sonoma store…but never in that kind of tasting room environment.

    Are you dipping into the oils, or actually sipping them from the cups?

  4. I’ve never been to a olive tasting, and actually didn’t know they existed either. The vinegars sound so good though. I’m going to have to do some research to find one where I can go.

  5. How interesting! I would love to go to a tasting! I’m quite oldfashioned with my oils and vinegars – I usually prefer the regular ones but then again.. I haven’t tasted that many different flavors either.

  6. Julia

    I love garlic and lemon flavored olive oils…YUM!

Leave a Reply

