Acorn Squash and Leek Soup

I have a delicious fall soup recipe for you that includes some seasonal favorites, but first we have a little business to take care of: a brief lesson in leeks.

leeks2

If you are new to leeks like me, fear not! Leeks are part of the onion family and are mellower than their green onion cousin. Leeks are tri-colored starting with a white base, a yellow middle, and a dark green top. For most cooking purposes you will begin cutting below the green top into beautiful little leek ringlets.

Watch out for sand, as it hides inside the leeks lovely layers. If you are slicing the leek into ringlets then follow up your chopping with a quick water bath so the sand can drain from the vegetable. Otherwise, make sure you spend a few minutes so your leeks are grit-less.

Now that we got the scary stuff out of the recipe, bring on the recipe!

Picture 1666

Acorn Squash and Leek Soup

2 medium sized acorn squash – any color
3 large carrots
1 leek
1 tbsp butter
2-4 cups vegetable broth (more or less depending on desired consistency)
1/8 c half and half
Nutmeg
Cinnamon
Sea salt
Black pepper

Begin by roasting acorn squash and carrots in the oven at 400* for 30 minutes. Remove squash and carrots from baking sheet and transfer them to a pan with sliced leeks and butter.

Add broth and half and half to the mixture of chopped vegetables and allow it to simmer until vegetables are cooked thoroughly. Add the broth mixture to a blender or use an immersion blender, and season to taste. Add more broth until you’ve reached your desired consistency.

       Picture 1671

Have you cooked with leeks before?

What’s your favorite way to use acorn squash?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Acorn Squash and Leek Soup

  1. I’ve only tried acorn squash roasted, but I fell in love with it after the first bite!

  2. Oooh, I love leeks!!! I always forget to cook with them though. Great reminder here!

  3. I have only cooked with leeks before once…I made a golden beet soup. I didn’t really care for the soup, but that is due to me not really caring for beets.

    I definitely plan on trying leeks again in a dish I find more appealing!

  4. I’ve never cooked with leeks before but I hear they are very good for you! This recipe sounds good 🙂

  5. I grew leeks in my garden last year and to be honest, that was the first time I ever had leeks. They BLEW me away. I love them! This soup sounds incredible!

  6. I like using leeks for soup as well. Potato Leek soup is one of my favourite recipes to make.

    I made soup last night with half of a giant pumpkin that I had on my front porch. Spicy Jamaican Pumpkin Soup. It had hot peppers, lime, and coconut milk in it. Turned out pretty tasty.

  7. Pingback: Veg | What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

