Grown Up Grilled Cheese

Everyone loves a good grilled cheese.

Aside from the simple bread and cheese variety there is a special kind of grilled cheese that I like to refer to as a Grown Up Grilled Cheese.

It’s a lot like the original, except that it has a little bit of an extra flare.

It may be the fancy bread.

Picture 1601

Picture 1551

Or the imported cheese.

Picture 1606

It may even have something to do with the unique component that takes it to the edge – whether it’s basil, pear, or a layer of jam.

Picture 1544

Picture 1599

All I know is that eating this makes me feel better about getting old.

Picture 1612

What is your favorite grown up grilled cheese variation?

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Grown Up Grilled Cheese

  1. I’m a traditional american cheese, huge white bread, grilled cheese girl, but I like to add tomatoe!

  2. You really can’t beat the combination of sharp cheddar and jam!

  3. Oooh marble rye. I totally baked 2 loaves of marble rye this past weekend : d

  4. Yum! That seriously looks and sounds delicious! I’ve never really made a grown up version (shame on me:), but I will definitely have to now!

  5. mmm grilled cheese w/ jam! love!

  6. yours looks perfect!!

    I love to add tomato, and I really love a crusty baguette with brie. oh my…

  7. I believe that if you put tomato and any kind of cheese other than American on your grilled cheese, then that elevates it to the level of “grown-up”.

  8. Hey just came across your blog and I’m LOVING it. Love the tabs. It’s simplicity with a twist. Keep it up 🙂

  9. I’m going to have to go with sharp cheddar and a thinly sliced tart green apple.

  10. Pear, brie, and a bit of bacon. Yum!

  11. I’ve been obsessed with cheese & hummus sandwiches lately, but I just had a grilled cheese & thin sliced tofu sandwich for dinner! It was soooo good.

  12. Mmmm. Looks delicious and what an adorable little plate!

Leave a Reply

