Do or Donut

You know I love apple orchards.

I love the apples.

And the turnovers.

And I especially love apple cider donuts.

It’s been a long time since I’ve gotten my hand on one of these babies. In fact, the last place I had one was at Mack’s Apples.  When I was little we would make a little voyage up to Londonderry, New Hampshire and spent hours picking out pumpkins to carve and ogling at all of the scarecrows.

Of course these days, the little voyage is a little bit longer to New Hampshire, and I can’t really justify a 20 hour car ride for scarecrows and donuts. Imagine my surprise when I found out that I didn’t have to.

Minutes from my house is a little apple orchard. They don’t have scarecrows.

Picture 1652

But the donuts are covered in sugar.

Picture 1653

Donuts: Do or don’t?

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Do or Donut

  1. Ohhhhh, do. Definitely do. 🙂

  2. I’m not a big donut person…I could care less about a box of Krispy Kremes or whatever. But CIDER donuts? Forget about it. I could eat seven of them. SO GOOD.

  3. What a fantastic photograph.
    I can truly imagine what that bag must smell like.
    Delicious.

  4. Apple cider donuts used to be my FAVORITE treat ever. God I miss them.

  5. Anne Marie

    DO, DO, DO! Thanks for making me smile today and reminiscing about our times together! I haven’t had a cider donut yet but now I need to! So I’m having a donut, with you baby girl! Love you!

  6. I would have inhaled that donut. It looks so tasty!

  7. oh DO… they are a definite DO…

    and since you have a photo, it looks like you DID !!
    *bravo*!

  8. I love donuts but the only time I eat them is in the fall – and if I get them from an apple orchard : ) They rock with some warm cider!

  9. That looks so good! I love donuts. I avoid them as much as I can. I like the plain with sugar better than the ones with lots of frosting.

  10. always yes when it comes to apple donuts. I grew up just a short ride away from Apple Hill in Northern California, which is a gorgeous area full of apple orchards, farms and vineyards in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada mountains. And just like your previous post mentioned, they could make anything and everything with apples. The apple donuts, and apple butter were always on our list to stock up on. And of course the fresh apple cider. The store bought stuff just doesn’t compare.

  11. I’ve never had an apple cider donut, but that looks heavenly. I actually really love donuts, but I never buy them. If I could get one from an orchard, though, you better believe I’d be there!!

  12. Pingback: Why Iowa City? | What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

