Orchard Fresh

I love apple orchards. In fact they are one of my favorite places on earth.

Someday I dream of owning one of my own. I’ll have rows and rows of apples.

All sorts. Honeycrisp. Jonagold. And of course, Connell’s.

We’ll have parties to celebrate harvests. And sell every kind of apple creation.

I’ve been perfecting my recipes for cider donuts and apple turnovers.

But until then, I have the applesauce recipe mastered.

Picture 1644  

Orchard Apple Sauce

  • 6 medium sized apples
  • 1 c dark brown sugar
  • cinnamon

Picture 1647

Peel, core, and dice apples. Add apples to a pot and cover with water. Bring water to a boil and then reduce heat to allow apples to simmer. Check on them every 15 minutes or so, or in between eating previously mentioned donuts and turnovers.

After 30-45 minutes, add brown sugar and cinnamon to taste. Remove apples from heat and mash them to your desired consistency. Pull out your Ball jars and get canning, or sit down to a nice bowl of warm apple sauce. Vanilla ice cream optional, but recommended.

Picture 1648

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Orchard Fresh

  1. I’m currently dreaming about cider doughnuts thank you very much.

    AWESOME pics today 🙂

  2. Your apple sauce looks great! I like that it’s not all mush!

  3. Molly

    mmm this looks so good. I need to make this!!

  4. Mmmm…there is simply nothing tastier than homemade apple sauce!

  5. actorsdiet

    i need to get to the orchard this season before they’re all picked out!

  6. Pingback: Do or Donut « What Kate Ate

  7. Pingback: A year in recipes | What Kate Ate

  8. Pingback: Why Iowa City? | What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

