Barley Spiked Root Veggie Casserole

Hi I’m Cynthia from It All Changes

IMG_4137 

I love making healthy living simple and attainable to everyone.  Trust me we can all do it, no matter your issues; work schedule, food troubles, tiredness, or a case of the I don’t wannas.

When Kate asked me to exchange guest posts I was flattered.  I love her easy going meal style and it fits my busy days.  Some days having a meal and not just food to put in my mouth is a struggle. 

She took on one of my nemesis with her beet challenge.  After years of fearing beets were only the gelatinized things my family ate in cans, Jenna intrigued me with her love of the purple food.  I gave them a try one day at the Whole Foods Salad bar.

IMG_5270 

 

They’re in there, trust me.  The mushrooms are hiding them.  I wasn’t going to risk cooking them myself – and the purple hands – if I didn’t like them.  Turns out I did…surprise, surprise. 😉

Yet I was still scared of cooking these little veggies at home.  I had a change of heart when I saw the best road side farm market ever.  There were beets of all colors.  I bought some tried and true originals and some of the golden variety.
We’ve read about Kate tackling the standard beet so let’s go on a little adventure with the goldens.

IMG_5401 

They are kind of ugly, huh?  Not something I would have picked up in the grocery.  However such fun lies beneath the skin.

  IMG_5404

Now what to do with it?  It’s my busy season and I live and die by my crockpot. With a little inspiration I present to you….

Barley Spiked Root Veggie Casserole – Crock Pot Style
2 golden beets
4 carrots
2 cups green squash, cubed
2 tsp olive oil
2 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp cracked black pepper
1 tsp salt (I used sea salt)
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup barley, rinsed
1 can diced tomatoes with juice
2 cups vegetable broth

1. Peel & Chop carrots into 1/2 inch rounds.  I didn’t peel them…besides a little grit is good for digestion 🙂

IMG_5397

2. Remove top and bottom from each golden beet to make them easier to peel.  Then peel & cube them. This works your muscles so enjoy the pretty colors while you sweat…just on on the beets.

3. Toss both into crockpot and add cubed green squash (leave skin on for fiber).  I lucked out that my mom froze a ton of this for me this summer so it is still fresh.

IMG_5404

4. Add barley, olive oil, pepper, salt, garlic and lemon juice.  Stir to combine.  These combos were totally random out of my head but they work…trust me.

IMG_5410 IMG_5411

5. Add tomatoes with juice and vegetable broth.   Stir one last time to combine…making sure the barley is under the liquid. 

IMG_5413IMG_5415

6. Cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 3-4 hours. 

IMG_5417                     
Toppings abound…parsley, cilantro, oregano, oh my!  I chose Zesty Cilantro Hummus from Trader Joe’s because that stuff is like crack and I’d add it to anything 😀

IMG_5424                      
7. Eat, devour, and love every bite. 

IMG_5434

After doing this with Kate I will never be afraid of beets again.  Okay maybe the purple ones if they stain and it looks like I hugged Barney a bit too much. 😀

What food are you afraid to cook?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Barley Spiked Root Veggie Casserole

  1. Pingback: Prior Proper Planning + Goals « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

