Traditional Fall Roasted Chicken

When I set out to complete my Culinary To-do List I was looking to conquer ingredients and dishes that I had shied away from in the past. Most of the items, roasting a chicken included, were things that seemed overly difficult and beyond my easy, 5 minute meal scheme. Boy, was I wrong!

Traditional Fall Roasted Chicken

  • 4-5 pound chicken
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 onion
  • 4 large carrots
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • rosemary
  • fresh cracked pepper
  • sea salt

Picture 1417

Step 1: Empty the inside of the chicken.

Picture 1418

Step 2: Fill the chicken with chopped vegetables and lemon. Place anything that doesn’t fit inside the bird in the roasting pan.

Picture 1419  

Step 3: Rub chicken with extra virgin olive oil, rosemary, and salt and pepper.

Picture 1422

Step 4: Roast.

Okay, now for the confessions.

The ex-vegetarian in me could not take photos of the uncooked bird. And I had to wait for Matt to get home to take care of the insides and the stuffing.

But, once all of that was taken care of it was easy to sit back and let it roast away.

Plus, while I was gone, the chicken provided Matt with a few extra meals for the week.

With Matt’s help the entire process was quick and easy. And I felt like a real cook!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Traditional Fall Roasted Chicken

  1. It looks like it came out awesome! I’ve never actually stuffed the cavity when I cook mine; it just seems so weird. But I should! That’s on the to-do list 😉

  2. I adore roast chicken! I’m generally unsqueamish, but I can’t help but feel a little disrespectful stuffing birds. Weird but true.

    The only issue we find is that we both hate to carve. If I could afford to buy nothing but deboned chickens, that’d be heaven!

  3. Your roasted chicken looks fabulous. I love roasted chicken, my dad makes the best one ever 🙂

  4. GIRL your food always looks so fresh and creative!! yummm. this sounds awesome. i LOVE me some chicken!

  5. That looks delicious!

    I made “Engagement Chicken” awhile ago and I had a really hard time handling the uncooked chicken…cleaning it, stuffing it, etc. I used to be a vegetarian and honestly uncooked meat still creeps me out!

Leave a Reply

