On disclaiming

I am many things.

I’m a Midwest transplant.

I’m a Nutella lover.

I’m fascinated with traveling.

And I’m someone who has lost weight.

I also happen to be an expert of my own life.

And I know a little bit about some other things.

On writing

I am clearly not an expert. Sometimes I use improper grammar. And I would spell things wrong a lot more commonly if Windows Live Writer didn’t have a built in spell check. I’ve taken a few classes on writing, but ultimately I’m not an expert.

On food

When it comes to food I’m an expert. Okay, so I’m not. I haven’t been to culinary school and I certainly am not a Registered Dietician. But, I love food. I like to write about my experiences with and through food and that’s usually what you find here. But if I give you a step by step tutorial on how to make spaghetti squash – please know that I will not be held accountable if it burns.

On weight loss

To date I’ve lost 50 pounds. You’d think that maintaining that loss for over a year and a half would qualify me as an expert, but it hardly does. In fact I’m still working on maintaining a balanced lifestyle and I still have a few pounds to go before I get to my healthy weight. Luckily for you this blog isn’t really about losing weight. So aside from the fact that I’m not an expert on it (just on my own personal experiences) you won’t really hear me talking about it.

On yoga

I am currently undergoing training to become a Yoga Alliance certified yoga teacher, but I don’t graduate until May. I do plan to talk about yoga to some degree before that point though, so please take into consideration that some of the material I speak of is either coming from personal experience or is regurgitated from someone more knowledgeable than myself – but that I’m still  not technically an expert.

On swimming

Well, here I am an expert. I’ve spent the last 5 years building up a resume to sustain a future career in the aquatic industry. I am a certified swim coach through two different organizations and I have had years as a Lifeguard and as a Swim Lessons Instructor. In other words, if you take any advice from me please let it be on how to properly do a flip turn.

On travel

Clearly I am not an expert on traveling, though I’d like to say I’m pretty great at reading maps, finding cheap flights oversees, and chatting to locals. If I give you ‘advice’ on how to travel, I suggest you take it. Did you know that a huge portion of Americans actually take their allotted vacation time? (In regards to facts like this – no, I am not a statistician. I did however get a C is Statistics.)

On reviewing products

Unfortunately I have yet to find a course that certifies you in product reviewing. Until then please know that all of my opinions on this blog are my own. I never accept free things that I don’t feel fall into the What Kate Ate theme – you know – unless I’m offered a car.  And since no one has offered, I don’t get paid to eat things, promote things, or giveaway things.

On the rest

As far as photography and blogging and networking and conferences and avoiding run-on sentences I am obviously no expert. I strive to concentrate on the things in my life that I am passionate about and sometimes advice, suggestions, or posts in how-to formats come up.

Mostly this blog is here to celebrate food, travel, yoga and swimming. And sometimes you hear about embarrassing stories from the farmer’s market and sometimes I post photos of my dogs. More than anything this blog showcases my life through words and poorly lit photos. And that’s exactly what I’m an expert on.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “On disclaiming

  1. It’s weird but people think because I lost so much weight I’m an expert. Really–I just know what worked for me. What currently works for me. I’m a work in progress. I’m changing daily!

  2. I just found your blog and I’m a big fan of how honest your writing is, and how inspiring your story is.
    Good for you, girl. You’re great 🙂

  3. I love love LOVE your blog girl, always have, always will. I’ve been slacking in the commenting but you keep doing what you’re doing.. love ya!

  4. And I love your blog just the way it is with all your expert and non-expert stories 😀

Leave a Reply

