7 layer bars

Regardless of how far away from home I am some foods transcend time zones and immediately bring me close to my family.

A few weeks ago for my birthday my Mom mailed me a batch of her amazing 7 Layer Bars – they are filled with chocolate and coconut and were literally the only thing I wanted for my birthday.

And although I prefer to eat them directly from the pan at my parents house in Massachusetts, I was perfectly content eating them straight from a UPS box on my couch instead.

Picture 834

7 Layer Bars

  • 1 Stick of Butter
  • 1 Box of Graham Crackers
  • Unlimited quantity of chocolate chips
  • 1/2 c Shredded Sweetened Coconut
  • 1/2 c Walnuts
  • 1 Can Condensed Milk
  • How to: Bring graham crackers to a crumb-like consistency (either by using a food processor or some other heavy smashing object) and layer in the bottom of a pan. Melt butter and pour over graham cracker crumbs forming the crust on the bottom of the pan. Add chocolate chips, walnuts and coconut on top of crust and cover with a can of condensed milk. Bake at 350* for 40 minutes. My Mom said to cut them into small squares, but I prefer to eat them straight from the pan on the couch.

What baked good takes you home instantly? What is your favorite ‘family’ recipe?

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “7 layer bars

  1. Being from Louisiana, a big bowl of gumbo always reminds me of home…which is unfortunate, now that I’m a vegetarian!! 🙂

  2. oh my gosh my mom used to make those! so yummy. she called them magic cookie bars.

  3. A friend at my school used to make THE BEST 7 layer bars. He ruled the bakesales

  4. My mom’s lemon meringue pie. NO ONE makes it as good as her. 🙂

  5. we use a national panasonic food processor and this seems to be a bang for the buck,-“

  6. food processors can really shorten the time it takes for you to prepare home cooked meals ‘.:

  7. Pingback: Tafftastic | What Kate Ate

  8. Amanda

    I love this recipe and will be incorporating it in my Christmas baking! I have to ask though, what are the 7 layers? 🙂

  9. Pingback: Beantown Bound | What Kate Ate

  10. I hate coconut, but somehow I LOVE 7 Layer bars. They are indeed…MAGICAL!
    Thanks for the recipe.

  11. Pingback: A coming home | What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

