Autumn Infused Quinoa

I have been on a serious quinoa kick lately. The little pearly delights are so easy to make and I have been meaning to pair the grain with my other fall time love – squash.

Luckily I had a handful of autumn ingredients on hand, so I got to work.

Picture 817

Measure out one cup quinoa and add equal parts apple cider Picture 813

plus two diced apples – I used Honeycrisp – to a pot.

Picture 816

While the quinoa,apples, and apple cider mixture is coming to a boil grab whatever delicious mix-ins you have on hand – I went for cranberries and walnuts.

Picture 814

Picture 815   

Picture 819 

Once quinoa and cider have come to a boil and you’ve brought down the heat, add remaining ingredients to a pot with a dash of cinnamon.

Picture 832

Allow cranberries to plump up and quinoa to soak up all of the cider. This dish is delicious warm or cold!

We were feeling particularly festive so we stuffed an acorn squash full of the cooked autumn infused quinoa and baked away!

Picture 820

What recipe screams autumn to you? Have you experimented with quinoa yet?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Autumn Infused Quinoa

  1. That sounds fantastic! I want to try this! I’ve used quinoa a lot but never in this way.

  2. Mmm I’ll bet it spells and tastes just like Autumn!

    P.S. I’m doing a blog get together for MN and WI bloggers and posting about it tomorrow. Please feel free to stop by and check out the info!

  3. tj

    YUM! I think I can smell it right through the computer screen! 🙂 hehe

  4. I have a big jug of cider that I need to use up– great idea!

  5. Hi Kate, Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! I wanted to return the favor 🙂

  6. Pingback: Yogi Lifestyle: Eating Well – “Autumn Infused Quinoa, by Kate Connell” « YOGI LONDON

Leave a Reply

