Squash it

Would you believe me if I said that I can’t really remember eating squash growing up?

In fact, I had never heard of a spaghetti squash until I moved in with Matt. Truth be told I was a bit hesitant to even try it the first time he cooked it.

Now, I’m in love. With the squash and with Matt.

1. Cut in half and scope out the seeds into the sink.

Picture 636

2. Place emptied out squash on cookie sheet.

Picture 637

3. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, Garlic Gold + bake at 425 or so, until you can stick a fork through the skin of the squash.

Picture 638    

4. Pull squash out and let cool. When you are ready for the fun to begin grab a fork and rake it down the center of the squash.

Picture 643 

5. Ooh and awe as you marvel over its resemblance to real spaghetti.

Picture 645

6. Fan the smoke detector as it goes off because you ‘lightly charred’ the squash.

Picture 646  

7. Grab some ingredients to make a quick dinner.

 Picture 650  

8. Thank your boyfriend (or me!).

Picture 653   Picture 656

What is your favorite squash?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Squash it

  1. I don’t think I ever ate squash growing up either. Broccoli, green beans, and corn were the only veggies my mom made!
    My favorite squash now is butternut. SO GOOD.
    Your dinner looks great!

  2. LOVE spaghetti squash! I didn’t have it until my early twenties.

  3. Spaghetti squash is my favorite followed by delicata.

    I will be sad when squash season is over.

  4. The ONLY vegetable I ate as a child was a cucumber. Hated all other vegetables. It wasn’t until I met and married my husband that the reason I didn’t like veggies was because my mom cooked them to death!

    Once I had al dente asparagus I was in heaven! Now its weird if I don’t have baby spinach, spaghetti squash and zucchini!

    I make a spaghetti squash and quinoa lasagna that’s really good – I need to make it again soon!

    http://mybizzykitchen.com/2008/10/21/spaghetti-squashquinoa-casserole/

  5. i love spaghetti squash especially because you can be so creative with it but my favorite is probably acorn squash.

  6. It’s so funny, I don’t think I ever really ate squash either! I think that the first time I had it was when I was working in a restaurant that served a veg medley with yellow squash. I remember it squeaked when I ate it 🙂 Zucchini and summer squashes are probably my favs, but butternut and acorn are pretty yum, too.

  7. My 8 year old LOVES spaghetti squash. I like it too, but I think my favorite is butternut.

  8. Ohh, I love spaghetti squash! My favorite would probably have to be acorn though.

  9. this looks great. i have a jar of that TJs bruschetta (sp?) in my pantry now!

  10. Yum! Spaghetti squash is easily my favorite – and my smoke detector goes off everytime I make it too! Lol… Though I usually blame the boyfriend and remnants of his rib roasting for any actual smoke. 🙂

  11. Pingback: On disclaiming « What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

