Battle of the Beets

I’ve always shied away from beets. I can’t decide if it’s due to their rustic flavor or their fuchsia coloring, but either way I hadn’t ever dreamt of cooking them. Until last week.

As part of my Culinary To-do list I vowed to accomplish five cooking goals in the month of October – and I started with the beets.

Picture

I knew that I wanted to serve my beets on a bed of mixed greens so I figured the best way to battle the beets was by roasting them.

My first though was roasting beets is so easy! Four easy, foolproof (I promise) steps:

            1. Wash outside of beets + cut off long greens

            2. Place on cookie sheet with some sea salt + extra virgin olive oil

            3. Roast until you can stick a fork through the skins

            4. Peel skins off + eat – preferably with goat cheese

Picture 622 

Picture 624

After I let mine cool I chopped them up and tossed them on a salad with some goat cheese from Triple Creek Dairy.

Picture 627

Picture 625
Easy, earthy, photogenic beets.

Picture 626      Picture 632

The greatest beauty of the beets? Matt said they were delicious!

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Battle of the Beets

  1. I have NEVER tried beets! Shame on me.

  2. Mmmmm…beets + goat cheese is SUCH a good combo. Yum!

  3. actorsdiet

    beets are wonderful, but they are a pain to make! my hands and kitchen look like a butcher shop after.

  4. I love beets, but have never made them before. You make it sound so easy its hard not to 🙂

  5. I love beets and they’re especially good with goat cheese. Your salad look delicious 🙂

  6. I have this huge fear of beets. Don’t know why, but I should really try to get over it. 🙂

  7. Kate

    that does sound super easy! did you turn your kitchen maroon? that is the one thing preventing me from trying beets. i am bad at cleaning up after myself 🙂

  8. I’ve never tried beets… my parents never made them growing up and now I’m pretty sure Dwight from The Office has ruined them for me. Shame…

  9. Pingback: It’s On « What Kate Ate

  10. Pingback: Barley Spiked Root Veggie Casserole « What Kate Ate

  11. Pingback: A year in recipes | What Kate Ate

  12. Pingback: Yogi Lifestyle: Eating Well – “Battle of the Beets, by Kate Connell” « YOGI LONDON

Leave a Reply

