An Ode to Summer

Well, today is the day that summer officially comes to an end.

I know some of you have been celebrating Fall for weeks. But I’ve been soaking up every last second of summer and also celebrating the start of my favorite time of year in sync.

The best of both worlds, truly.

Pumpkin Ale, grilling out, Pumpkin Spice Lattes, sunny walks in the park.

But, with the end of September coming Fall is officially in season but not without a proper Ode to Summer, of course.

 

I said sianara to Iowa and headed to Pennsylvania to spend the summer working as the Waterfront Director at a summer camp.

I crossed off a few of my 10 in 2010 goals, including taking a road trip.

1

I registered for my Yoga Teacher Training class and became a Featured Life Blogger for the Des Moines Register.

I learned how to live with barely no technology and managed to semi-blog without internet.

I spent a weekend in the Charm City, celebrating their festivals and falling in love with Baltimore’s architecture.

6

I spent time exploring Lancaster with my parents and made it to the City of Brotherly Love.

I visited 3 wineries in 3 weekends.

7

Matt & I spent his 24th birthday in Washington, DC where we ate and walked to our hearts content.

I attended the HLS in Chicago & hung out with some of the most amazing women  (and man) I’ve ever met.

3

I finally got to visit the Goose Island Brewery!

4

I came home and resumed normal blogging & then decided to change the focus of What Kate Ate to more of a celebration of all things food, travel, yoga, and swimming.

And I spent the rest of the summer just enjoying life. Hanging out a baseball games, watching roller derby, and eating peaches.  

5

And celebrating 4 glorious years with What Matt Ate.

xmas photo

What a great summer! Bring on the pumpkin carving!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “An Ode to Summer

  1. Meg

    Beautiful recap! As much as I adore summer, I’m totally ready for pumpkins too 😀

  2. Great summer summary 🙂

  3. I love the reflection posts going up about everyone’s summers over the past few weeks. And I’m still jealous of all of you who go to go to HLS. 😀

  4. Looks like you had an awesome summer! I’m from Philly and I love everything about PA (seriously). I can’t believe you went to Chaddsford – I’ve never been but my sissy has been asking me to go for ever. I’m definitely checking out those posts!

Leave a Reply

