Project Food Blog

My journey to the becoming the Next Food Blog Star.

va la

Food. For as long as I can remember food has been riding in the passengers seat of my life, as a side kick, a companion, as the one consistent thing.

Instead of burying myself in my Mom’s cookbook collection or dreaming of going to culinary school I ate brownies for breakfast, became the World’s most unhealthy vegetarian, and put almost an extra hundred pounds on my 5 foot frame.

Through habits that seemed to be ingrained in stone and a lack of care, food became simultaneously my enemy and my best friend.

Over the past two years I’ve turned my life around starting with the very thing that got my in trouble in the first place, food.

peaches

I’ve learned how to cook and grow a garden. I’ve cashed in fake foods for wholesome choices. I’ve lived and breathed balance and found myself in the process. I read recipe books as magazines and I inspire others.

And I provide home cooked meals to my family.

chards

I still can’t bake. I regularly confuse baking powder with baking soda. And some days I eat ice cream for dinner.

But I’m real. And a work in progress. Food is still a focus. And as you can tell, it’s still in the passengers seat. Except now, I open the side door for it each day.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Project Food Blog

  1. Hmmmm passenger seat, interesting way of looking at it. That’s kind of like my boyfriend, it’s just a happening of his day. Whereas for me, I base my whole day around my meals!

  2. This is great! Good luck 🙂

  3. Sugar has been riding shotgun along side me all my life.

    We’ve taken many unforgettable trips together… but, sadly, now we are in the midst of an amicable separation. We just came to realize that we’re just no good together.

    LOL! That was fun. Thanks for the analogy!
    Diane

  4. Love this post! I think food can play a starring but happy role in our lives — hard to find that balance, but worth it. 🙂 Good luck!

  5. Anne Marie

    I am so proud of you and all your amazing accomplishments. I always knew you were an amazing young woman but you are so much more! Good luck with the competition, it would be a great prelude to your birthday! I love you xoxoxoxo

  6. Kate

    what a great post! it makes me smile to read this 🙂

  7. Yeah I can’t bake either!

    Good luck 🙂

  8. Love it! Beautiful post dear 🙂

Leave a Reply

