Easy as Quinoa

I love quinoa.

But, I have two confessions to make.

              1. I didn’t know it was pronounced Keen-Wa for far too long.

              2. I had been a tad bit intimidated to cook with the funny named grain.

Luckily I am happy to say that those days are behind me! And luckily for you, I have a fool proof quinoa recipe in case you were suffering from confession #2. Don’t worry, I won’t tell anyone!

Picture 020

Pineapple Quinoa

  • 1/2 c Quinoa
  • 1/3 c Water
  • 1 Can Chunked Pineapple; with liquid
  • 1 Chicken Breast; cooked and shredded
  • 1 Red Bell Pepper
  • 1 Orange Bell Pepper
  • How to: Bring all ingredients together and to a boil. Allow to cook for a few minutes and then remove from heat and allow quinoa to soak up the remaining pineapple juice. Serve hot or cold.

Picture 021

While I was making dinner the other night I threw this together on the side since I knew Matt and I would both be eating dinner out of the house a few nights this week. 

Now we both get to eat a delicious, healthy meal on the go instead of sustaining on bars (me) and Ramen Noodles (him). Win, win!

Picture 039

Hello easiest meal of your life!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Easy as Quinoa

  1. I keep on saying I am going to try quinoa, but for real, before the snow falls here in Minnesota, I need to try it. 🙂

  2. I was really intimidated by quinoa at first but it is my go to meal. There are so many great things you can do with it.

  3. Kate

    i used to pronounce it as quin-oh-ah for the longest time! it has since become my favorite grain. i love that you can make a big batch and keep it in the fridge all week.

  4. i started drooling the second i saw this! yum! i’m definitely making this later this week 🙂

  5. Thank you for teaching me how to pronounce this funny-named grain and thank you for sharing this recipe. I just had a conversation with my mother about quinoa this week. She’d never heard of it. I told I had, but had no idea how to pronounce or how to prepare it. I plan to forward her your blog post.

  6. Pingback: A year in recipes | What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

