Welcome to Milwaukee

  Matt and I spent our Labor Day weekend exploring the beautiful state of Wisconsin. We’ve been a few times before but we really wanted to spend some time in Madison and Milwaukee to see if we could see ourselves moving to either of the cities next summer.

And I think we could!

We arrived in Milwaukee around 5 on Saturday and headed to my friends Sara’s house. We changed clothes and set out for our city tour.

First stop, water!

Blog 875

There are a few things on my must-have list for the city that we move to. And number one is water. I love the Midwest way of life but the New Englander in me needs water!

Blog 885Blog 897

Blog 899

Lake Michigan kind of looks like an ocean!

Blog 894

Blog 889Blog 891

Regardless, it makes a beautiful backdrop for a Christmas photo!

We spent a little bit of time walking around and checking out the architecture.

Blog 878

 

Blog 896 

Blog 879 

Blog 874

Blog 870Blog 871

And driving down Brady Street.

Blog 912      

We took  a quick tour through the UWM campus.

Blog 920

Blog 921 

Until we stumbled upon a Trader Joe’s.

 Blog 923 Blog 924

Post Trader Joe’s we headed over to Solly’s. According to my research Solly’s is the home of the butter burger, a famous Milwaukee foodie find. But after arriving we were told they closed at 8. And it was 7:59.

So we turned around and headed back to Bayshore to find some food. We had our hearts set on burgers so we went with a burger/bar joint called Bar Louie’s.

I ordered a turkey burger that was complete with pepper jack and cheddar cheese, mango salsa, and a jerk sauce, topped with some greens and roasted red peppers.

Blog 935

With fries galore!

Blog 936

Sometimes you just need a good old fashioned burger and fries!

Post dinner we sprung for some famous Kopp’s custard. Naturally I got the flavor of the day: Peanut Butter Chocolate custard.

Custard, an ocean look alike, and a Trader Joe’s? Where do I sign my lease?

What prerequisites did your now-home have before you moved?

Or if you are looking to move, what features  must your new city/town have?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Welcome to Milwaukee

  1. I have a few friends that live in Milwaukee that absolutely love it! Kopp’s custard is apparently is where it’s at, or so I’ve been told. 🙂 Madison is pretty as well! Both are a quick drive to Chicago, which is pretty awesome!

  2. thehealthyjunky

    Great pictures! Looks like and awesome time!

  3. I love the picture of you two–it’s really cute. 🙂

    Moving to Portland from Seattle was pretty easy because they are pretty similar cities. If I move from Portland, my prerequisites are:
    near a forest
    near water of some kind (beach, lake, river something..)
    near the mountains

    Basically–I want lots of outdoorsy things to do.

  4. Joanne

    I would choose Milwaukee! I love Milwaukee and will be moving back there as soon as possible. There is so much to do there and so much to see. From museums to festivals and all kinds of other activities it is exiting all the time. It is clean and friendly and of course there is the lake! I love our lake!

  5. Pingback: New Glarus Brewing « What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

