Lemony Lentils

I love that Matt works at home and I’m in and out of the house all day long. Being a full-time student who has some odd jobs means that we get to spend (usually!) more time together then most couples. It also means that I get to make his lunch and we often get to eat together!

Lunch

When I got home from class I did a little bit of office work for Matt and then I made a killer lunch.

How can you go wrong with sausage + Buffalo Bleu chips?

Blog 700 Blog 702

I piled two salads on top of leafy greens. They had:

  • Dried cranberries
  • Crumbled feta
  • Sliced al fresco sausage
  • Mini sweet peppers
  • Drizzle of Ken’s Italian

Blog 703

It was crispy and fresh and one of the best at-home salads I’ve had in a long time.

Blog 706 

Plus, we had chips on the side. Salad + chips = a balanced diet.

Blog 702

Dinner

After our late lunch I did a little bit of this and a little bit of that. Then I headed to a Self Guided Class over at Tree House Yoga. I spent an hour or so breaking down

When I got back I was physically and mentally exhausted and I considered eating a bag of chocolate chips for dinner.

But instead I made a quick, easy, healthy meal.

Lemony Lentils with Sugar Snap Peas

  • 1 c pre-cooked lentils of any kind
  • 1/2 c stock
  • 1 tbsp chopped garlic
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 1/4 c crumbled feta
  • sugar snap peas
  • Seasonings: Salt and pepper
  • How: Bring lentils, stock, and garlic to a boil. Add juice and zest of half a lemon, along with peas. When heated thoroughly add feta, salt, and pepper and serve.
  • Notes: I used Trader Joe’s Black Beluga Lentils & a bag of microwavable sugar snap peas – basically I took all the work out! Asparagus would be a great substitute for the sugar snap peas. I intended to use it, but it was $7 a bunch at the market!

Blog 710

Blog 711

I’m glad I saved the chocolate chips for dessert!

Locals

The first ever Iowa City Yoga Festival is taking place November 5th, 6th, and 7th in Iowa City. Join me and tons of other energetic yogis as we enjoy a variety of workshops from teachers all over the country!

Enjoy your Tuesday!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Lemony Lentils

  1. there are no words for how much i love lentils…this sounds super refreshing!

  2. Just found your blog! such a cutie, can’t wait to read more! I need to try lentils =]

  3. I looove lentils. They make great vegetarian taco meat!

  4. I actually just bought some lentils to use in some different recipes – I like that they don’t have to soak overnight :-).

    The Iowa City Yoga Festival sounds like a lot of fun too!

  5. I wish I could join you at the yoga festival, it sounds fun! 🙂

  6. Martha

    I have a bag of TJ’s black beluga lentils I’ve been meaning to use. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

