Brown Milk

Yesterday afternoon Matt and I set out on an hour long bike ride around Iowa City. I soaked up every second of the 90 degree sunshine. As I put it to Matt, before we know it we’ll be knee deep in snow – literally. This is Iowa after all!

When we got back I was starving so I reached for half of a Chocolate Peanut Butter Luna Protein Bar that I got from the Healthy Living Summit and then polished off the rest of our hummus:

Blog 688 

Dinner

I did a few chores around the house and then Matt made dinner.

Blog 690 Blog 692

It was the cheesiest! Macaroni and cheese!

Blog 693

After dinner I lounged a bit and then headed to the grocery store.

I came back and made some cookie dough from a delicious Cooking Light recipe. But Matt and I deemed it too late to bake. So we ate some dough instead.

Oh, Sunday evenings!

Breakfast

This morning I woke up bright and early and headed to the kitchen for some cereal.

I used one of the coupons I received in my swag bag from the HLS, the HLS truly is the gift that keeps giving, and picked up this new cereal at the grocery store.

Blog 694

As an adult, I’m fairly new to cereal. When I was little breakfast usually was a pop tart, a toaster strudel, maybe a bagel, or some form of sugary oatmeal with dinosaur eggs in it.  But usually not cereal.

I’ve definitely opened up to cereal over the years. And now it’s the easiest breakfast I can think of!

 Blog 696

Blog 698

As for the Erewhon?

It’s chocolatey.

It’s organic.

And it left my milk brown.

What’s your favorite cereal now? What was your favorite cereal as a kid?

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Brown Milk

  1. Haha! That’s the same cereal I bought with my coupon 😉 How could I say no to chocolate?

  2. Haha I always think you are talking about me when you say “Matt” 😉

  3. love the soup bowl…with the mac n cheese in it!

    i love any cereal with fruit in it. fresh or dried. i eat a lot of high fiber cereals that reaaaallllly need some fruit.

  4. i actually don’t like cereal at all (I know, right?!) but i used to LOVE shredded wheat. i’m weird, i know 🙂

  5. Kate

    i totally remember that dino egg oatmeal! did you ever have the kind with the gummy bears?

    i love cereal. kashi heart to heart is my fav now but as a kid it was cinnamon toast crunch.

  6. Frosted Flakes and Life were my favorites as a kid.
    I do not eat a lot of cereal now, but I do love frosted shredded wheat, probably because its so filling.

  7. This might sound scandalous…but I’ve never really liked cereal, nor did I ever eat it for breakfast, or even for snack. I think they’re okay, but not something I would spend money to buy.

    Is that Kraft Mc & Cheese? AWESOME! >__<

  8. I LOVE cereal. I do not know how I would survive without it. When I was a kid and still do to this day, I like to mix cereals. When I was a kid my dad would make my breakfast while I was getting ready for school and my mix would involve Life Cereal, Frosted Mini Wheats, Cheerios, and sometimes I would have Cinnamon Toast Crunch aswell. These days, I personally like to mix Bran Flakes, Wheaties, and Corn Flakes. I like the mixture of Flakes and I feel more full!! Sorry for the long post on cereal, but it really is my favorite food!! 🙂

  9. Hey thanks for stopping by the bloggy.

    i love cheerios cereal! i loved it as a kid and i love it now! i also loved coco pops as a kid, they turn the milk chocolatey too!!!

  10. oh man, cereal is definitely my favourite food group. as i kid i loved my Fruit Loops, then it was Shreddies and Mini Wheats, now i eat high fibre stuff (kinda like raisin bran) and muesli. yes, i am a connoisseur 🙂

  11. Pingback: Sam I am « What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

