Talk derby to me

Yesterday afternoon Matt and I headed to his parent’s farm for a little bit of family time.

Blog 653

Of course I spent some time soaking up being outside in the sun.  And visiting with the animals.

Blog 650   Blog 649

Being away from home for almost the entire summer has made me really cherish every single summer time activity and sun-filled day that we’ve done in the last couple of weeks.

Blog 663

Blog 668 Blog 657

Dinner

After running around and taking far too many photos, we headed inside for dinner.

Blog 671 

I finished off the meal with a few pieces of candy.

Blog 672

And then we were off.

To the roller derby that is.

Blog 673 Blog 675

Cross it off my list:

Blog 676

I have officially been to a roller derby bout. Cedar Rapids Roller Girls, to be exact.

It was such a fun experience! There was so  much energy and I loved the girl power. I can’t wait to attend another one, perhaps a little bit closer to home.

Blog 678

And I’ve already come up with my derby name: Hate Connell.

Breakfast

This morning we woke up late and had pancakes. Not just any pancakes though, we had Peach Pancakes.

Blog 680

I added some Apple Pie Spice, Vanilla Extract, and some fresh peaches to a boxed pancake mix and wa la:

Blog 684

Peach Pancakes were  born.

Blog 682 Blog 681

No pancake would be complete without Almond Butter, Vanilla Oikos, Chia Seeds, and Maple Syrup now would they?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Talk derby to me

  1. oh man, I’ve always wanted to roller derby but I’ve never been to a roller skating rink in my life! I bet it was a blast to watch.

    Peach pancakes sound fantastic to me. I need more pancakes in my life.

  2. that farm is soooo cute!!!! how fun is that?

  3. Wow- how gorgeous is it out there? I am relishing in the last bit of summer as well too. It goes by way too fast. Your peachy pancakes look fantastic!

  4. actorsdiet

    have always wanted to go see roller derby! i love the title of this post.

  5. Oh those pancakes look great!

  6. those roller derby shots totally reminded me of the movie “whip it”. have you seen? SO makes you want to go out there yourself 🙂

    (i’ve never had almond butter, or chia seeds. that’s weird, right?)

    • Whip it was a pretty good flick! Id say hold off on chia seeds if you dont eat a lot of oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, or baked goods, but a lot definitely will last for a long time. Almond Butter is a good addition to anyones life!

  7. I’ve heard about these roller derby girls in CR, but have never been to one!

  8. What a beautiful farm! Peach pancakes sound amazing – and peppermint patties are one of my favorite candies!

  9. roller derby?! that’s so cool!

    i went home this past weekend and definitely savored every single “summer” moment. it’s amazing how great a sunny day with beach and bbqs can feel 🙂

  10. Pingback: An Ode to Summer « What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

