Death of Me

Wednesdays are going to be the death of me! Let’s rewind:

Breakfast

I’ve been staring at this smoothie mix since I got home from the Healthy Living Summit and this morning I decided today was the day to try it.

P1060891

In the blender I added:

  • A serving of Vega Cho-a-Lot Smoothie mix
  • A handful of frozen raspberries
  • A glug of soy milk
  • A tad bit of plain yogurt

And wa-la:

P1060892

It tasted like a cold glass of thick pudding. It was perfect!

Thanks again Heather for trading me the Tropical Tango for the Choc-o-lat! I owe you big time!

Topped with some oatmeal.

P1060893 

In between classes I snacked on some cashews.

P1060899
Lunch

After class Matt, his sister Michelle, and I headed to Panchero’s for lunch. I brought my SLR but the battery wasn’t fully charged so I’m sans lunch photo.

Imagine a salad with:

  • Lettuce
  • Black Beans
  • Grilled Veggies
  • Guac
  • Corn Salsa
  • Jalapenos
  • Medium Salsa

All nestled on top of a homemade tortilla. Delicious!

Dinner

While meal planning on Sunday Matt & I dreamt up the idea of Pulled Pork Nachos and they lived up to their name!

P1060900

P1060901

Matt threw the pork into the crock-pot earlier today with some seasonings and when I came home I got to work on assembling the masterpiece.

P1060903

We topped the tortilla chips with the pork, some queso fresco cheese, red onions, zucchini, and of course fresh salsa & plain yogurt.

P1060904

After dinner I rushed off to a swim coaches meeting – I’m so excited to get to coach more this Fall – and now I’m ready to kick back and eat some ice cream!

Chia Seed Giveaway

After the success of the last Chia Seed Giveaway my friends at Chia Seed Direct decided we should do it again!

ChiaSeedsDirect

Interested in winning a bag of Chia Seeds?

1. Tell me how you’ll use Chia Seeds as part of your healthy lifestyle. In baked goods? On salads? As an oatmeal topping?

2. Tweet about this giveaway! Tweet “@whatkateate I want to win Chia Seeds http://www.whatkateate.com”  and let me know that you did!

3. Mention this giveaway on a post of your own or email a friend the details and let me know!

Please enter a new comment for each way you entered so I can enter you more than once to win!

I’ll pick a winner Saturday morning!

Good Luck!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Death of Me

  1. Brooke [onehealthycookie]

    I want some chia seeeeeds!! I would use them in smoothies, oats, chia pudding, etc. I’ve been dying to try them!

  2. I’d love to try chia seeds – I’ve never had them before. I would try them stirred into yogurt, or topped on a stir fry.

  3. i’d use chia seeds in my oatmeal! yum!

  4. I love chia seeds in my smoothies, cereal, oatmeal and different stif fry dishes. Gotta love th chocolat Vega…delicious.

  5. christeeny16@mchsi.com

    I’ve never tried chia seeds before, but I’ve seen them around Blogworld and I think I would like to try them in my Greek Yogurt!

  6. ooooo kinda wishing now that I had traded someone my tropical vega for the chocolate too! Dang!

    I have never used chia seeds so I would try them every way possible!!

  7. Liz

    I just bought them for the first time this week. I’ve been using them in yogurt, oatmeal and smoothies. I really want to try them in baked goods. Thanks for the giveaway!!

  8. Sam

    I love them mixed in with my over night oatmeal. It give it a little something extra and i feel good about putting it in my body!

  9. Christine

    I want to try chia seeds sooo bad, but can never justify buying them on a student’s budget. I want to use them as a topping on my yogurt instead of flax!

  10. Pingback: Multi-purpose « What Kate Ate

  11. Those nachos look so good, maybe I should make some this weekend 🙂

  12. Jordan P

    Ooooh I think those chia seeds would go great on a salad, better than sunflower seeds I hope! Esp with some nice raspberry vinagrette.

  13. Stacey

    Hi Kate! I have been longing to try chia seeds but can’t quite get myself to justify the splurge. I think the first thing I’d do is make some homemade granola incorporating the chia seeds and put it in little jars for my friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

