America’s Past Time

Lunch

I considered eating only chips for lunch, but instead I decided to base my lunch around chips. Compromise, right?

P1060859

I made a half-sandwich to accompany my Sunchips and threw some grapes on the plate for some color/nutrients.

P1060860 

Dinner

Matt & I had plans to meet up with some friends at a local baseball game. In order to save some money and calories I made the decision last night that we would have dinner at home first and then head to the 6:30 game.

For some reason my time slipped away from me and not only was I not close to being ready to go at 5:20 but I hadn’t even considered dinner. I’d love to say that I was enthralled in some worthy cause but I truly had succumb to a Nip/Tuck Netflix marathon! I threw together a quick grab & go salad before we headed out the door.

P1060863

I originally grabbed an Empower Glo Bar to eat on the way to the game in the car, but I cashed it in for a cookie that Matt’s sister Michelle had baked for us instead. Hey Michelle!

P1060865

When I think of summer a few key terms come to mind: cookies (see above), fireworks, mosquitoes, watermelon & baseball. Cedar Rapids Kernel’s baseball to be specific.

Blog 494

Blog 507

Blog 495

Blog 536

The Kernel’s didn’t end up winning, but we caught a few mini performances from the Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders. Not a bad night to pick up America’s favorite past time.

What screams summer to you?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “America’s Past Time

  1. Ice creammmmm! Well now fro yo butt my bank account does not like this obsession :(!

  2. Brooke [onehealthycookie]

    Popsicles. The smell of freshly mown grass. Humidity (ugh).

  3. Lemonade and watermelon and fresh strawberries and tomatoes the color of tomatoes!

  4. I’m not a huge chip person but I LOVE Sunchips! Totally my weakness! P.s. I live in Wisconsin and was actually in Cedar Rapids earlier this summer with my Youth Group on a mission trip helping with flood relief!

  5. Hmmm I wonder what you would say if I told you I had Cheetos & wine for dinner? 😉

  6. savoringsarah

    I create meals around my cravings all the time 🙂 Totaly justified!

    PS LOOOOVE your header. I am an onion fuhhh-REAK! YUM!

  7. I really like your header too, I’m passionate about red onions 😀

  8. The new header is snazzy! But onions are my least favorite food. Baseball games are the epitome of summer to me.

    PS I’ve been watching Nip/Tuck via Netflix for Wii for about 3 weeks now. I’m about half through the final season now.

  9. Pingback: An Ode to Summer « What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

