Where Kate Ate

A few days before I started singing camps songs at the top of my lungs I was driving across the country from Iowa to Pennsylvania, and like any food blogger I had an arsenal of snacks to carry me through.

My appetite was still a little off from my stomach bug, but I was able to handle a few snacks on the first leg of the trip.

P1060169 

We ended up pulling off in Ohio for the evening to stay in a hotel and catch up on some Z’s before we finished off our ride.

Wednesday

I woke up and had a bowl of oatmeal that I made with some milk and an apple I brought along.

P1060172

After breakfast we headed to the car and found that we had a flat tire! We managed to change the tire ourselves and head to Wal-mart to have the hole repaired. Having never had to change a tire myself (and hardly paying attention when both my Dad and Matt would show me) I was really impressed that the 3 of us girls were able to pull off such a task.

P1060174

I grabbed some pineapple and a magazine and had a picnic in one of the aisles while we waited for the tire to be repaired.

P1060179 

A couple of hours later we hit the road for PA. We stopped at a well-stocked gas station where I was pleasantly surprised to see some to-go Sabra snacks.

P1060182

Thank you, Ohio!

P1060183

A few hours later we found ourselves on the Pennsylvania turnpike.

P1060184

And I kicked off my Pennsylvania summer with some chocolate Hershey’s ice cream, naturally.

P1060186 

We pulled into camp a few hours later and got settled. Since I was unsure of what kind of dining conditions I would be presented with I made sure to pre-plan. My stash?

  • Assorted bars
  • Assorted fruit
  • Individual Chocolate Milks
  • Peanut Butter

Luckily, so far the food has been really great. The head of the kitchen recently graduated from school after studying dietetics and she’s a Registered Dietician. Interestingly enough, the health manager is also studying to become a Registered Dietician. Needless to say we have had fruits and veggies at almost every meal. I’ve opted to label myself as a vegetarian for the summer, as it seems that a lot of the non-vegetarian options are less balanced meals.

What is one food you could not live without for the summer?

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Where Kate Ate

  1. I need to practice putting on a tire – it’s a great skill to have.

    I have been eating Greek yogurt every day this summer. I find it so refreshing.

  2. CHERRIES! Love eating cherries all summer long!

  3. I envy you for having such amazing snack at gas stations, hummus!!

    ps. I love those sour worm candies 😉

  4. mmmm gummi worms!! those things are soooo good!

  5. Brite Crawlers, YES! One of my favorite candies, ever!

  6. I couldn’t live without watermelon and corn on the cob!

  7. Yay Hershey’s! One of PA’s biggest claims to fame, right? I couldn’t go through summer without berries. They’re one of my favorite foods recently!

  8. Sounds like you have a great road trip!! What camp are you working at in Pennsylvania?? Because it sounds like you have a pretty great set up there… healthy food and great coworkers that understand where you come from!! 🙂

  9. I could not live without hummus. It is my go to condiment and I eat it all the time.

  10. Girrrl, I have the same Blackberry Graham bar. SO good.

  11. Thats great there are dieticians in the kitchen. Sometimes (often) camp food is very unbalanced.

  12. To go hummus cups? What?! Must seek! Yum!

    I’m totally feelin’ the pineapple and yoga mag. Just might be the best thing for a lazy day waiting for a flat tire. No fun, but at least you’re with good company (food, reads, ya know.).
    😉

  13. Where did you stop in Ohio? This Ohio girl wants to know 😀

  14. Peaches! Hershey’s ice cream, yum!!

  15. Hershey’s ice cream…….love.

  16. fruit….I love fruit in the summer. For some reason I don’t eat it a lot in the cooler months but when it gets hot all I want is fruit!!

  17. I, too, labeled myself as a veg when I was at summer camp in order to benefit from “healthier” meals! (Thought I was the only one who had caught on to that little secret….)

  18. Pingback: 10 in 2010 « What Kate Ate

  19. Pingback: An Ode to Summer « What Kate Ate

  20. Pingback: Good Ole « What Kate Ate

  21. Pingback: Harbor Fish Market | What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

