It feels likes Fry-day

Last night a small group of us got together to try our second attempt at my Goodbye Dinner (number 1 was cancelled due to a stomach flu).

The plan was to go to Wildwood Saloon, a newish Saloon & Smokehouse in town. Wildwood is basically a glorified bar inside a huge barn. It features a huge dance floor for the many country concerts it hosts.

P1060157

I was feeling like a burger for some reason, but I stopped dead in my tracks when I saw Frickles on the menu.

P1060163

I like fried food just as much as the next person and these fried pickles were up there.

P1060165 P1060166

A few of us ordered some different fried things to share: Frickles, Onion Rings, & Fried Green Beans.

P1060164

For a meal I finally acted on my craving for a burger + fries (that I’ve had since the Triathlon!).

P1060167

After a few bites I was feeling fried-food remorse. I generally don’t feel too hot after eating oodles of fried food, but I felt especially gross after having not eaten in a few days.

The company definitely made up for the so-so food. Verdict? I’d go back for some frickles, an ice cold brew, and a kicking country concert. For their burgers? Not so much!

P1060155

Most health conscious people still fancy some fried food from time to time, its all about moderation baby. So tell me what is your favorite fried food? Do you have a faux fried food that you love?

See ya from The Keystone State!

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “It feels likes Fry-day

  1. fry-day indeed…those are my favorite days of the week πŸ™‚ i love french fries…thin, slightly crisp, and flavored really well!

  2. I would be all over those frickles! I’ve had fried pickles before, but they were circles, not spears like that.

    I do like fried food every once in a while (um, I may have a deep fryer at home!) but I agree, a little goes a long way!

    I guess my favorite would be fried jalapenos – I made them one time in a tempura batter and dipped them in a wasabi sauce – yum!

  3. My favorite fried food would have to be falafel! But I also make falafel sometimes at home (Moosewood recipe) and bake it and that’s really good too. I also love onion rings, especially from this place here that puts Black & Tan in the batter. Which is weird, because I don’t like onions πŸ™‚

  4. good ol french fries for sure . . . but I’d be very willing to try this frickle you speak of

  5. There’s this place down on The Cape called Kate’s Seafood (it’s one of those little seafood shack places that is amazing!) Anyways they have the best onion rings of all time, and i usually hate onion rings πŸ™‚

  6. Holy fried food, Batman! It looks awesome. πŸ˜‰ I splurge once or twice a year on mozzarella sticks. LOVE em.

  7. AMEN! I need some guilty pleasure food in my life. I’d go nuts without it. I am a sucker for french fries!

  8. I’m definitely a fries girl, hands down. I can resist 99% of salty unhealthy foods, but I’m powerless before a good plate of fries!!

  9. I’m all over thick cut french fried properly seasoned. Omnomnom.

  10. Meg

    I cave anytime I see a plate of fried mushrooms. Especially if they come with horseradish sauce. Drool…

  11. Thai spring rolls – no not the fresh ones the deep fried ones πŸ™‚ So delicious!

  12. I love sweet potato fries. I almost always order them when I get a veggie burger out, especially when they’re served with honey mustard sauce.

  13. Kate

    deep fried snickers bar. YUMMY and uber naughty. that is how i like it πŸ˜‰

  14. I’m with you – fried pickles all the way!

    I actually know the owner of this new bar….he was my brother’s best man and college friend…small world!

  15. Not even gonna lie…good chicken fried steak will get me everytime. I am a southern girl at heart…what can I say?! haha!

  16. I love fried food too, but it’s not in the menu for me at the moment *sigh* πŸ˜€

  17. Oh yes mam! I don’t eat fried food all that much but I LOVE French Fries and fried calamari!!!!

  18. I looooove fried pickles dipped in honey mustard. And french fries when they are really good. And fried zucchini with ranch dressing. Yummm.

  19. I find that too much fried food just makes me feel sick from the grease. Every few months I’ll have a few bites and that satisfies me for a while. I like falafel a lot which is kind of fried. I have always wanted to try a fried oreo!

  20. Glad you made it safe and sound! I think my favorite fried food would either be fried okra or hushpuppies…hum…can you tell I am a southern gal?

Leave a Reply

