It’s All Greek to Me

Talking about our Greek meal Wednesday night got me thinking about the hundreds of reasons why people visit Greece.

Some people go to marvel at historical buildings that once sat atop ancient cities,

P1010369

P1010388

or to spend days island hopping and enjoying the laid back way of life,

P1010261

P1010306

P1010273

others find themselves out late at night letting loose and mingling with the locals,

20342_803889901179_14831611_45713419_8100024_n 

20342_803889886209_14831611_45713416_1456876_n

and of course everyone comes to enjoy the food.

P1010365 

IMG_0197

IMG_0198

IMG_0202 

P1010646 

IMG_0550 

What factors do you consider before you travel somewhere?

Do you have a favorite food from a vacation that you remember fondly? I’ll always appreciate the gelato I enjoyed in Rome and of course the pizza from Naples.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “It’s All Greek to Me

  1. I still remember all the awesome dishes we had in Greece during Xmas 2009!

    The only place where I haven’t been in love with the food was China, but there were some good moments too 😉

  2. I laugh Im drawing a TOTAL BLANK on what i consider before traveling…its been that long.

    please tell me someday my child will actually SLEEP in a hotel room?
    then I shall travel again.

    till then its all vicarious livin’ for this misfit

  3. I’ve been dying to go to Greece for way too long now. These photos make me want to go even more! I remember the gelato in Venice which was out of this world. Pretty much any food in Italy, really. Bad food stands out, too. Like the nachos my family and I got at a pub in London that were Doritos with cheese. I loved London, but the food? Notsomuch.

  4. The only factor I consider is $$$$ – ha! We rarely get to travel anywhere, so when I do go, it is very special.

    In high school I was on a Europe trip for a month….I fondly remember a pasta dish I had in Venice!

  5. That looks like fun! I’ll always remember the bread and butter I had in Ireland. For real, it was the BEST thing I have EVER put in my mouth. I think I might smuggle some back this time…

  6. Cafe Aulait from Paris!

  7. Lately I want a nice place to relax with good food and lots of sun!

    I spend a semester in Italy and the pasta and gelato were so delicious. I also really want to go back to Paris just so I can get a ham and cheese sandwich on a baguette. So good!

  8. If I were on that show the Best Thing I Ever Ate it would totally be the pizza that I got from some hole in the wall in Rome. No red sauce and lots of veggies with some Parma ham. Delicious.

  9. Kate

    i have a huge travel bug now!!!!

    creme brulee in paris comes to mind right away for epic travel eats. i can’t find another creme brulee that even touches the amaziness of the one i had in paris.

    have a lovely weekend!

  10. Is it weird that I find the octopus strangely appetizing? Love my cephalapods 🙂 The best food I ever had on vacation is a tie between Laduree hot chocolate in Paris, and fresh gnocchi in Rome. Why must Europe have the best food ever?!

  11. Greece was awesome, but one of my only gripes that I did NOT get anywhere near enough Greek food when I was there!

    My favorite memories are definitely from France, love the eating there… especially crepes with nutella for breakfast and french bread, smelly cheese and a bottle of wine for lunch, day after day!

Leave a Reply

