Shady Runs

Happy National Running Day!

P1050865

Many of you know I have a love/hate relationship with running, but we can all agree on one thing. It’s imperative to wear fashionable sunglasses on any run, regardless of the duration. Am I right?

Breakfast

I’m a few days behind on my eats, but yesterday I decided to jazz up the usual cereal + blueberry breakfast and make some bagel + egg sandwiches instead.

P1060075

P1060076

P1060077

P1060078

Lunch

I heated up some leftover American Chop Suey for lunch and paired it with a huge Pink Apple.

P1060079 P1060080

I don’t know about you guys, but American Chop Suey is one of those meals that just screams home to me. According to Matt “New England American Chop Suey” (as shown below) varies significantly from Midwestern style Chop Suey. Who knew? What’s in the dish you call American Chop Suey?

P1060081

Bake

After lunch I made a mess of my kitchen by making a few homemade treats. First I took a cue from my favorite Peanut Butter Finger-ed covered lady and made her famous flour-free PB cookies.

I followed the original recipe and then got inspired to throw in a Jelly component. Peanut butter and jelly cookies? Yes, please.

The “jelly” was actually a homemade Rhubarb-Strawberry Sauce that I made a few days earlier from some rhubarb that Matt’s parents brought me from their farm. I had never used rhubarb before, but plenty before me have so I took the plunge.

P1060063

Rhubarb-Strawberry Sauce

  • 2 Stalks Rhubarb [Diced]
  • 1 Pint Strawberries [Tops cut off, chopped]
  • 1 c Sugar [or other sugar substitute]
  • 1/2 c Juice of Choice [I used Raspberry Lemonade but Orange would be good]
  • 1 tbsp Vanilla
  • 3 tbsp Cornstarch
  • How to: Add last 4 ingredients to a pot and allow to come to a gentle boil. Once boiling, reduce heat and add strawberries + rhubarb. Cook until fruit is mushy and can be lightly mashed. Allow to cool as a jelly or serve hot on pancakes, ice cream or enjoy by the spoonful.

 

Easy, delicious PB+J Thumbprint Cookies.

P1060061 

The only thing that goes better with peanut butter than jelly is chocolate!

After the cookies I was on a roll so I decided to dive into a few bookmarked recipes to see what else I could make. I used Evan’s Coconut Oil Chocolate recipe to make some of Averie’s delicious Raw, Vegan Peanut Butter Cups.

P1060086

I’m just upset I waited so long! They were easy, delicious and ready in a flash. Make these now, thank Averie + Evan later.

Dinner

After my baking and un-baking I headed to work for a few hours. I came home and assembled the quickest dinner known to woman.

P1060066

Some “good for you” egg rolls I found on sale at the Co-op last week

P1060070

and some pineapple.

P1060065

Can you guess what I had for dessert?

Question

I’m sure a lot of you have plans to hit the pavement today in celebration of one of our nation’s few fitness holidays. So tell me, what are your go-to running (or working out) songs?

These five songs got me through my 5k a few weekends ago:

  1. La Roux – In For The Kill
  2. Usher – OMG
  3. Kesha – Boots + Boys
  4. David Guetta feat. Akon – Sexy Bitch
  5. Vanessa Carlton – Private Radio

Enjoy your Wednesday!

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Shady Runs

  1. Your peanut butter cups looks like they came out perfect! I haven’t made chocolate in too long because it’s so hot it melts. What a shame.

  2. I won’t be celebrating National Running Day today…I ran yesterday and today it’s POURING! Ick!

  3. i won’t be running, but since i JUST got my iPod working again I’ll be jamming out to RENT and Chicago on my walk today 😉

  4. I’m thinking about a run today. I have been running without my fashionable sunglasses – knew I was missing something.

    Your baking/non-baking creations look delicious!

  5. boots + boys cracks me up! i love your little pb cups!

  6. I have eggrolls like that on occasion too. They are so delicious! And it’s nice that they actually have normal ingredients and nothing hard to understand.

  7. I did NOT know it was national running day today but lucky for me, I happened to run anyway! Albeit on the treadmill but it was still a good run 🙂

    Mind sharing those incredible looking pbj cookies with me please? Rhubarb strawberry jam in the middle is genius.

    I can and love to run to anything upbeat. I find lots of great upbeat remixes on Hype Machine (hypem . com). Fun stuff. LOVE La Roux!

  8. I was tempted to go for a run today, but instead I went for a walk, and now am getting to go out with some friends. Maybe tomorrow.

    Love the look of that rhubarb topping. I need to buy some to make a compote before the season ends!

  9. The dish you showed I call Hungarian Goulash. I have no idea why though.

  10. Lately I’ve been on a major Lady Gaga kick. As crazy as she is, a lot of her songs make for great running tunes!

  11. Kate

    thanks for sharing the music! i love new suggestions. my latest run obession song is “the only ones” by lookbook. i heard it on the radio this morning and i wanted to start running 🙂

  12. Those cookies look fabulous! Thanks for sharing!

  13. Kesha and Lady Gaga are a MUST for running for me!!! Or working out in general.
    Those pb cups… OMG. YUM!!! I need to try those!

  14. Averie’s recipes are so awesome, aren’t they? Love em!

    I like a lot of music to work out to- some of my faves are Modest Mouse (Float On), Bubba Sparxxx ( Miss New Booty), and pretty much anything by Le Tigre!

Leave a Reply

