Is your Eating Season-ized?

I’m a true believer that beautiful food tastes better. So the same must be true of the presentation, right? I used one of my new floral bowls to serve myself a simple breakfast of Cascadian Farms cereal with some Vanilla Almond Milk.

P1050994 

Side shot. Plus a browning banana on the side.

P1050995 

Lunch

We had an hour break in between our lifeguarding shifts at work so we headed to Applebee’s for a quick bite. Since the Triathlon I have been craving french fries but I hadn’t had the chance to get them until today. Per usual, Applebee’s french fries did not disappoint.

P1050998

Dinner

I am teaching a Lifeguarding certification class all weekend, so I needed something quick to eat while I taught last night. I had the other half of my Chicken Fajita Roll up + some berries.

P1060001

I dealt with my sweet tooth by picking up a few Peanut Butter Pretzels from the Co-op. Does anything sound better that Peanut Butter covered pretzels?

They truly are as good as they look. And they are addicting! I usually only buy them from the bulk bins as a road trip treat for Matt + I when we hit the open road for a vacation or trip somewhere.

P1050999

Is your Eating Season-ized?

Most of us in the blogging community do a pretty good job about eating what’s in season. But I find myself reaching for different types of food as the seasons change. I’ll forever stick by Winter-friendly staples like Oatmeal + Sweet Potatoes, but come warmer weather I like to say hello to some long lost friends.

Summer Lovers

  • Berries – The only time that I can actually afford to eat berries is once the weather warms up.
  • Yogurt – Smoothies make more appearances come Spring + I’ve never met a yogurt filled smoothie I didn’t like.
  • Cereal – I have a hard time eating warmer based cereals first thing in the morning, so I increase my cereal intake come May.
  • Cottage Cheese – Cottage cheese has always screamed summer to me, and although I eat it all year round I especially enjoy it after Memorial Day.
  • Melons – Enough said.
  • Lemonade + Juice – I used to shy away from juices or any beverage with calories in it for that matter, but I do love a refreshing glass every once in a while.
  • Fish – With a snow-covered grill we don’t get nearly as much seafood in the Winter as we’d like, so we make up for it as soon as possible.

What are your favorite summer foods?

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Is your Eating Season-ized?

  1. Oh gosh, I had been craving french fries SO BADLY until I finally had some last week. Hit. The. Spot!

  2. I have had the pb filled pretzels from Trader Joe’s but never pb covered pretzels! they sound tasty. My eating is pretty seasonized I guess. I just bought local lettuce, spinach, sugar snap peas, apples, and strawberries from the farmer’s market. Berries are hands down my favorite part of the summer. I love how their sweet but not overpowering taste matches their lovely, bold colors.

  3. I love your seasonal list. especially berries right at the top! I just bought some beautiful black, blue and raspberries. affordable and delish finalllly!

  4. i REALLY like that bowl with the flowers. favorite summer foods are watermelon, peaches and corn on the cob!

  5. That bowl is beautiful… where did you get it from?? I need some new bowls, so I would love to know where you got it so that I can get it too!!
    My favorite summer foods are corn on the cob that has been grilled on the grill and strawberries!! 🙂

  6. I love berries, peaches, big salads and cottage cheese with fresh pineapple in the summer!

  7. give me those pretzels!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    -rebekah

  8. I too eat more cold cereal and berries and melon in the summer. They just scream summer to me.

  9. I want some of those PB pretzels!!! They look so good! My favorite summer foods are strawberries, raspberries, watermelon, and corn on the cob.

  10. PB pretzels! Holy moly! They do look killer!

    I do eat seasonal for sure. I love berries,watermelon, and tomatoes. Summer tomatoes taste so much better!

  11. Favorite summer foods are definitely berries and all kinds of smoothies. Can’t get enough of either one, and I can’t wait until berries are in season for picking.

  12. My favourite summer food is definitely the fresh berries and new potatoes, yum!

    Great looking fries and dip – I’m a fan of both!

  13. In the winter time I can consume endless bowls(yes, bowls) of hot chocolate but give me a bucket full of berries when the warmer weather moves in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

