Attack of the Vending Machine

I started my morning with a frozen concoction.

 Chocolate Covered Raspberry Smoothie

  • 1/4 c Stonyfield Vanilla Yogurt
  • 1/4 c Silk Vanilla Almond Milk
  • Frozen Raspberries
  • Scoop of Trader Joe’s Chocolate Whey Protein Powder
  • Handful of Spinach
  • Heavy dusting of Cocoa Powder

P1050975

Can it be a Green Monster if it isn’t green?

P1050976

Lunch

For lunch I had a toasted whole wheat bagel that I smeared with some Peanut Butter + Pear Butter.

P1050977

Vending Machines

After lunch I was feeling snacky. Even though I packed two separate snacks for some reason I was really craving a Peanut Butter Nature Valley Bar from the vending machine. So I went to go get one and I pressed the wrong button! I ended up with some jerky thing + then I got the granola bar and happily ate both.

[And I had just read Anne’s post on Avoiding Office Junk Food!]

When I was younger things like jerky really freaked me out, but recently I’ve found that I kind of like them. I do feel like there are some things that are just weird to blog about eating and jerky + summer sausage are up there.

What is the strangest food you eat or blog about?

After work Matt + I met up at the soccer fields and squeezed in a quick walk before our Tiny Tot Soccer Game. Our last two games had been rained out, and today was a perfect sunny soccer day. Needless to say, the kids were super excited to play.

Dinner

After soccer Matt + I ran a few errands and returned home to take to the grill. I ran to the Co-op and picked up some Cod + we threw on the asparagus that we got from the Farmer’s Market last weekend.

P1050985

P1050990

Simple and tasty.

P1050991

Dessert

After dinner we each enjoyed a serving of this refreshing sorbet that took my taste buds on a vacation! I love chocolate as much as the next person, but sometimes you just need something frozen + fruity.

P1050992

Exercise

I had intentions of waking up early yesterday and starting off my day bright + early with a morning Vinyasa class, but I ended up sleeping through my alarm. I changed my plan of attack and ending up deciding to go to the 7:15 class after our Tiny Tot Soccer Game. But as the day went on I was really dreading having to go to yoga.

I’ve only exercised twice since my Triathlon on Saturday and for some reason I was feeling guilty for not being more active this past week. Plus my weekend is booked solid as I have some plans with friends and Ill be teaching a 35 hour Lifeguard Class. But here’s the truth:

  • I won’t die if I don’t exercise more than twice a week
  • It’s okay to want to spend time with Matt + the dogs after a long day instead of exercising
  • I’ll be moving away from Matt + the dogs for 2 months in 2 weeks so it’s okay to want to spend time together
  • I can work on fitting in exercise here + there by including push ups, swimming or a quick vinyasa or two

What kind of exercise do you resort to when you only have a few minutes? Any quick exercise tips?

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Attack of the Vending Machine

  1. I love to do the Shred when I have only 20 minutes. Otherwise, just some pushups, dips on my coffee table, and bicycle crunches. Jumping jacks are awesome cardio too for just a few minutes, or jumping rope!

  2. Hehe, sometimes you just gotta give in 😉

  3. lowandbhold

    I’ve been dying to try that brand of sorbet! Sounds delicious!

  4. Shred…20 minutes of hell! 🙂

  5. I know it sounds funny, but I like to have a little random dance party in my living room. You can really get your heart rate up with some booty shakin!

  6. It’s all about balance. You’ll get back to the grind when you can!

    I would say do some squats, lunges, push ups and ab work.

  7. Hats off to listening to your body and eating the snacks you wanted.
    When I’m pressed for time I find pylometrics work best for me. Not only do they really get my heart pumping, but my knees can’t handle them for too long, so a quick session works perfectly.

  8. Oh Coconut sorbet! My favorite. I snack a lot at work, especially in the afternoon. I can’t keep focused for some reason.

  9. oooo, Love me some summer sausage! I remember growing up we always got it 1x a year, on New Year’s Eve! My mom would buy Ritz crackers, sharp cheddar and a summer sausage and we’d make little cracker sandwiches while we watched Dick Clark’s NYE special 🙂

    I second the other comments on the 30 Day Shred DVD and I’ve found some great “mini” workouts on “Demand” from Fitness TV 🙂 Bobbi over @ N Her Shoes also has posted some great mini-bootcamp circuit workouts!

  10. definitely can still be considered green 😉 when i don’t have much time to workout i throw in some quick plyos! jump squats are great. have a fun weekend!

  11. Grilled asparagus is the best!

    I don’t know if I blog about weird food, do I? 😀

  12. Nature Valley PB granola bars = delicious. I haven’t had one in AGES, but they always remind me of HS!! It’s good you don’t feel guilty about spending time with your loved ones instead of working out. They gym will always be there!! Hope you have a great weekend!

  13. Sometimes you just have to eat what you crave!!! I haven’t blogged about anything too weird but if I blog about yesterday, it will be. I had a sweet potato and yogurt for breakfast and then “lunch” consisted of 1/2 of a protein Luna bar, 4 peanut butter crackers, 1 beer, and 2 1/2 wine coolers. And pizza for dinner. And another glass of wine. My liver hates me today.

  14. A jerky and granola bar isn’t bad. I love jerkies…and they are a low-fat source of good protein! 🙂

    Recently I had stinky tofu: fermented, deep-fried tofu that stinks like pulverized socks.

Leave a Reply

