Yoga Pose May: Tree

Currently I am either swimming, biking, or running my way to the finish of my first Triathlon. But I didn’t want to leave y’all hanging.

Of course as part of Yoga Pose May, I signed myself up to do a yoga pose. But I have jumped from posture to posture, from dolphin to staff to tree.

I really wanted to do Dolphin pose because I love how it feels and it truly was the first step in achieving a head stand.

P1050782 P1050783

[Does any one else’s dogs stalk them when they are trying to do yoga?]

I really wanted to do Staff pose because it is the hardest posture for me from all the poses in the Yoga Pose May lineup.

P1050786 P1050789

[Aside from working on my core strength, you’ll also be happy to know that I’m working on smiling during photos instead of expressing my frustration in them.]

And I really wanted to do Tree because I love how peaceful and centered it makes me feel.  And I find myself doing it virtually everywhere and anywhere.

P1050584

[Plus, I really wanted to show this picture of Matt again.]

P1050773

Ultimately I went with Tree because I love balancing poses + I’ve been working on the act of quieting my mind while practicing. It’s easily one of my favorites.

Benefits:

  • Strengthens thighs, calves, ankles, and spine
  • Stretches the groins and inner thighs, chest and shoulders
  • Improves sense of balance
  • Relieves sciatica and reduces flat feet

    Variations:

    P1050776 P1050779

    P1050778 P1050777

    Other Bloggers Doing Tree Pose:

    Happy Birthday Mom!

  • You are an inspiration + the motivating force in my life. Even though I won’t be able

    IMG_0727

    to share your special day with you, I hope you have a great birthday.

    IMG_0417

    And we seriously need some non-Christmas photos of us!

    IMG_0384

    I love you + miss you + you are the best Mom in the world!

    9 Comments

    Filed under Uncategorized

    9 responses to “Yoga Pose May: Tree

    1. I’m sure you’re kicking triathalon butt! Can’t wait to hear about it!

    2. awww ahh happy bday momma!!

    3. I do the tree pose in line at the grocery. It is just fun to do 🙂

    4. Nice poses! I need to try the Staff pose – it definitely looks hard, so way to go!

    5. I love the tree! I’ve missed yoga a lot in the past few days and will definitely have a session tonight, yay!

    6. Awww happy bday to your mom!!!!
      I used to love the tree pose too.. it was always a challenge though!

    7. Hilarious!!! Love Matt doing tree pose!

    8. Pingback: Yoga Pose May Recap « What Kate Ate

    9. Pingback: Yoga Pose May Challenge: Tree Pose | My Happy Me.com

    Leave a Reply

    