Pesto Chicken Salad

I started off yesterday’s breakfast with a new nut butter find from Trader Joe’s that had been sitting in my nut butter drawer untouched for far too long.

P1050719

Since the closest Trader Joe’s is 3-4 hours away I make an effort to stock up on my favorite goods whenever I get the chance. Since I am truly a Peanut Butter kind of girl, the Almond Butters have a longer shelf life.

Breakfast

2 Van’s Waffles, a smear of Almond Butter, slices of a Braeburn, and a drizzle of pure maple syrup.

P1050721

Served with a few strawberries on the side.

 P1050720

Lunch

P1050741 

Pesto chicken salad served on a bed of romaine.

P1050743

Pesto Chicken Salad

  • 1 Cooked Chicken Breast
  • 1/2 c Chopped Zucchini
  • 1/4 c Chopped Red Onion
  • 1 1/2 tbsp Store Bought Pesto

Dessert

Followed by a mortar + pestle cookie.

P1050744

Swim

After my cookie I headed to the pool and did my last swim before my Tri on Saturday. I did a 450 yard swim in my race pace and felt fabulous.

I hung around the house for a while and then headed to Matt’s sisters house to catch up on Keeping Up With The Kardashians + I ate another cookie.

Yoga

I headed to my last 7:30 yoga class + sweated my butt off. It was the peak of the class and definitely challenging in some areas. I’m going to miss my accessibility to yoga classes while I’m away at camp this summer. I guess Ill be getting in touch with my self-teaching.

Matt made Spinach Florentine Ravioli for dinner. I had a tasty bowl when I returned from yoga + spent the rest of the night watching television.

Question

What are your favorite products from Trader Joe’s, if of course you are lucky enough to live near one. Do you have another favorite health food store? If so, what is it?

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Pesto Chicken Salad

  1. Bridget

    TJs has the best hummus – cilantro jalapeno is my favorite! I also love their jalapeno (sensing a theme?) chicken sausage. They are super healthy and great for a pizza topping, in a salad or wrap!

  2. actorsdiet

    oh i am so so so sorry you don’t live closer to a trader joe’s! i have so many staples from there.

  3. I need to pick up that flaxseed almond butter, I have heard such great things!

    I love so many things from TJ’s. However, if I had to pick one thing, it may have to be the PB filled pretzels.

  4. My favorite lately is the roasted corn and the vegetable masala patties.

  5. cute cookies!! there’s no trader joe’s by me either 😦 sad!

  6. You poor thing!! 4 hours from a TJ’s? I couldn’t survive. I love their hummus, chicken shui Mai, their Indian food….too many things to name!

  7. i always stock up when in california.. i wish i had a TJs! i have that AB in my cupboard and LOVE it. oh man.. i could talk about TJs all day. so i wont. locally, i love sunflower market. the pesto salad looks delightful!

  8. Mmmm.. I’m craving pesto now! and that cookie looks so cute 🙂

  9. I definitely do not take enough advantage of TJs. Let’s see, they have an AMAZING strawberry jam, as well as their pita and naan, and hummus, the frozen individually packed steel cut oats, pretzel bread to-go sandwich, dried fruit selection, lemon curd, and peppermint jojos (like oreos, and only during holidays).

  10. The closest Trader Joes to me is 5 hours away. 😦 We really stock up when we’re in Atlanta though. I love their This Fig Walks Into A Bar. So yummy!

  11. Favorite TJ’s product is definitely their chocolate covered peanut butter filled pretzels. I mean, can you even imagine how good that is?! I have no sense of portion control with them, haha!

  12. Does everything count as a favorite? Because that’s my answer. But I am dying to try their meatless corndogs. They intrigue me.
    And congrats and g’luck on your impending tri. I’ll probably that a few more times between now and when you finish. My brother is a triathlete, so I fully understand what an amazing thing it is to complete one. You’re going to do amazingly.

  13. I have to say hands down it’s their crunchy unsalted peanut butter. But i can’t buy it anymore because I’ll eat a jar in like two days.

    I’m on board with just about anything that TJ’s sells. Love it!

  14. Pingback: DIAJ « What Kate Ate

  15. fattiefatterton

    I am very lucky, because I have both a Trader Joe’s and a Whole Foods within 2 miles of where I live. I usually stick to Whole Foods,though, as I hate going grocery shopping to multiple stores.

Leave a Reply

