Tis the Season

It’s officially the season of graduation parties, games of bags, and S’mores. Rejoice!

Breakfast

I started off my Saturday with a quick waffle peanut butter & jelly sandwich and a few strawberries. Then I hit the road for my second to last day of my coaching class.

P1050676

P1050677

Snack

While learning about all things athletics I drank some chocolate milk. It’s a dessert, a liquid, and a snack all in one.

P1050678 

After class I hurried to the graduation party of the year. Matt’s sister and two of her roommates had a joint graduation party to celebrate their 4 years of pharmacy school. And they did it Hawkeye style.

Truthfully no photos or explanations could ever explain the hysteria that radiates from the college town we live in or represent the hype of the Hawkeyes. You really need to be from Iowa, live in Iowa, or at least visit Iowa to get a true taste of the Big Ten College Town feel.

P1050683

P1050686

P1050688

P1050689

Lunch + Dinner

P1050685

For lunch I partook in some sampling from the food at the party, and enjoyed a Fat Tire.

P1050691

And like any normal human being I saved some room for cake. Matt and I shared a slice of chocolate + a slice of white with raspberry filling.

P1050690

After hanging out at the party for hours we headed back to Renee’s house to have a bon-fire. I failed to take anymore pictures but I had the same thing for dinner plus a wine cooler, a sugar cookie in the shape of a mortar + pestle, and a S’mores.

Sunday

Needless to say I woke up in a sugar coma Sunday morning. I kept breakfast simple and toasted up a sandwich thin that I smeared with a tablespoon of peanut butter and topped with a few golden raisins.

P1050699

When I overdue it, the next day I immediately try to get back on track. For me that means having a solid breakfast and fitting in some exercise when I can.

I was in such a sugar-state when I woke up at seven my stomach didn’t even signal that it was hungry until a little after 10. Obviously I know breakfast is the most important part of the day and I never intend to miss it. But I do think it’s acceptable to put it off until your body actually signals that it is hungry for it.

Lunch

A few hours later I broke into my pre-packed lunch of a Braeburn + a Cinnamon Roll Larabar. The Cinnamon Roll flavor was so tasty. I might even dare to say that it outranks my beloved PB&J and Tropical Fruit Larabars. It is a little bit higher in calories than some of my other Fruit + Nut Bar friends, but it’s worth it.

P1050701

The rest of my Sunday afternoon was spent practicing taping injured body parts, discussing nutrition, and getting fingerprinted. I am happy to say that I’m officially a licensed coach in the State of Iowa!

When I headed home I snacked on a bowl of strawberries and relaxed for a bit.

P1050704

Dinner

I had plans to meet some people at work for an end of the season get-together. I knew the kind of food was be tasty (wings, fries, burgers) but not necessarily healthy. Since I had overdone it the day before I decided to have something at home before I headed out.

Part I

A Pizza Sandwich Thin: Provolone, Turkey Pepperoni, Tomato Sauce.

P1050705

Part II

A side salad with Ranch.

P1050707

Question

What college did you go to or graduate from? Let’s see who has the coolest mascot + school colors!

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Tis the Season

  1. i have been craving a waffle sandwich JUST like the one you had for FOREVER! looks amazing…i need to get on that STAT.

    I graduated from Texas Tech – our mascot is the Red Raider and the colors are red & black! wreck ’em Tech 🙂

  2. I went to Union College in NY and had a pretty terribly named mascot… the Dutchman! It was literally a Dutch man with wooden shoes and a pipe. Looks like you had a great weekend!!

  3. peanutbutterfingers

    i graduated from UCF (university of central florida). we are the knights w/ black & gold as our school colors! 🙂

  4. chocolate milk is sooo yummy mmm. and that fat tire amber ale sounds pretty neato! gonna have to look that up and see if they sell that around here. i’m a Gator girl so I love me some orange and blue. 🙂 wooot

  5. Cake with raspberry filling is seriously to die for! I had two graduation cakes, one of them being vanilla w/ raspberry. Brings back memories. 🙂

    I graduated from the University of Minnesota. Good old Golden Gophers!

  6. fat tire! wow, i haven’t had that in years. it isn’t sold here in utah so we used to always buy it out of state and sneak it over the border 🙂 the wafflewich looks great and i am digging the natural light!

  7. I love waffle sandwiches. It makes a pb&j so much better! My college mascot was a greyhound and our colors were green and grey.

  8. I lurve chocolate milk, but I can’t help but chug it! I don’t even let myself savor it!

  9. I love Fat Tire beer! Haha, I can’t wait until I’m 21 so I can post about my favorite beers without jeopardizing future jobs…

    I go to NYU. Our school colors are violet and white, and our mascot is the violet. Intimidating, I know.

  10. I graduated with my bachelor’s from a really tiny school called Lebanon Valley College. The mascot was the Flying Dutchman (he’s a little man with wings on his shoes…it’s as dumb as it sounds!) and the colors were blue and white. For my master’s I went to Towson University; the mascot there is a Tiger, and the colors are also black and yellow/gold.

  11. um that larabar looks amazing! IGE got me hooked on them but my trader joe’s only stocks cashew cookie, peanut butter cookie, cherry and apple pie.

    I go to UC Irvine. we’re navy and gold, but our mascot? the anteater. yep, and according to a comic strip (i don’t remember which one) apparently anteaters make a sound: “zot”. so that’s our rallying cry. yeah…we’re a research university, with no football team.

  12. actorsdiet

    pb and j on waffles is the best breakfast in the world! chocolate milk also brings me back….yum.

    i graduated from wesleyan university in ct. we were not a jock-y school – cardinals were our mascots and black/red were our colors.

  13. I went to Providence College, colors black and white and the mascot was a FRIAR. I think that wins for most strange mascot, right?

  14. Girl, you are right about this being a Hawkeye state…we have nothing else, so we go all out!

    I graduated from the University of Northern Iowa, mascot was the Panther, and colors are purple and yellow!

    I also love fat tire:)

  15. Haha, I love pb and jelly waffle sammies!
    Also, I’ve never seen Fat Tire in a can. (I could just be uncultured.)

    I went to Clemson. A tiger mascot isn’t very creative, but orange and purple as school colors is fairly unusual!

  16. I want waffles too, it’s been way too long since I last had some. YUMMY!

    We didn’t have school masco, boohoo! college in Finland is so different to US ones 🙂

  17. A preemptive “welcome to Pittsburgh” is in order! 🙂 If you have any questions about the city, please let me know. Good luck in your move!

  18. fattiefatterton

    Ohhh, I think I know how you feel, being that I live in Columbus, OH, the home of the Ohio State Lemmings, er, Buckeyes.

    But I went to a small private university here in Columbus, Capital University. We are the Crusaders. And I’ll just let that percolate.

Leave a Reply

