Lame Lamb

Last night’s dinner was a complete and total failure. But first let’s back up to breakfast and lunch, shall we?

Breakfast

An early morning basic: Sandwich Thin with PB & Golden Raisins + some Trader Joe’s Strawberry Preserves.

P1050545

P1050546 P1050547

Lunch

I was craving a more snack-style lunch today. So I assembled a plate of cheddar cheese + some Kashi Mediterranean crackers + a mango.

P1050548

Snack

I did plan on having a Greek yogurt with my snack-plate but I ended up not being hungry after my cheese, fruit and cracker feast. Instead of having the yogurt for a mid-afternoon snack I settled on some Cocoa Roasted Almonds.

P1050558

I’m usually not a fan of 100 Calorie Packs because I think they are a waste of money and usually don’t resemble whole foods, but I found this on sale at Target and I couldn’t resist.

Dinner

A few months ago Real Simple had a fabulous looking recipe for Tuscan Lamb with Garlicky Tomato Sauce and Polenta. I had pulled it out and added it to a huge pile of Must-Make recipes. A few weeks ago Kath reminded me of the recipe when her husband Matt prepared a spin-off of it and I added it to our weekly rotations for meals.

P1050554

P1050556 

It looks gorgeous, but I assure you it was far from delectable. I’ve eaten lamb a few times (usually on vacation) and I was sure that I would enjoy this dish. Of course polenta is plain and I’m not a huge tomato person, but overall it looked like it would have some tasty qualities to it.

I had two bites of the lamb and a bite or two of the polenta and then I called it quits! Blech! I counted my loses and handed my bowl over to Matt. I headed off to yoga and returned to enjoy this fruity, peanut buttery bowl.

P1050561

Yoga Pose May

Have you been following Yoga Pose May? Check out all of the bloggers who have been participating this month here.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Lame Lamb

  1. Kate

    cocoa roast almonds are the bomb! i haven’t had them in forever and kind of forgot. thanks for reminding me.

  2. Heyy girly! Just came across your blog and I am absolutely loving it! You now have a new follower!

    xo

  3. Oh I LOVE cocoa roasted almonds!

  4. Bummer on the lamb. I really like lamb, but apparently it has a pungent taste/smell even though I can’t seem to taste it haha.

    Ah well, at least you know you can throw that recipe out the window then 🙂

  5. Megan Peters

    Kate,

    You are such a healthy eater! I am truly impressed…as I eat my pumpkin bar and pizza. 🙂

  6. Bummer!! I hate when good idea meals fail. Lamb is a hard thing to make right in my opinion so I wait to order it out. 🙂

  7. My husband would love the lamb dish!

  8. i’m absolutely addicted to those cocoa-roasted almonds! i usually get the 11-oz canisters 🙂

  9. I tired to make polenta at home and had the same problem. BLAH BLAH BLAH!

    I do love those almonds though. They take the edge off of my killer sweet tooth.

  10. Sorry to hear about your not-so-good-dish 😦 lamb is definitely my favourite but t’s not easy to cook, sometimes it has a weird taste:)

  11. Pingback: Polenta Chips « What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

