How I Stay Healthy

Happy Mother’s Day

First of all, Happy Late Mother’s Day to both my Mom + my sister Heather. You are both fabulous role models + shining examples of strong women + loving mothers. Thank you for all you do!

 IMG_0727 Picture 020

Breakfasts

P1050492 P1050523

Snacks

P1050533 P1050526

P1050527 P1050536

Lunches

P1050495 P1050530

Dinners

P1050506 P1050538

Treats

P1050539 P1050541

P1050503 P1050544

How I Stay Healthy

The other day I referred to What Kate Ate as a healthy living blog and it got me thinking. Being healthy is so much for than what you eat and how you exercise, although those both are key components. Along the way I’ve developed some other healthy habits + behaviors that help me live a healthy life.

Hydrate– I make an effort to drink a lot of water on a daily basis. I make sure to up my intake on days that are particularly warm or when I will be engaging in a lot of physical activity.

Check Ups– I regularly visit my doctor for check ups and as needed when issues arise. Today is National Check Up Day, so make an appointment if you haven’t seen your doc lately.

Sunscreen– As someone who works outside during the warmer months applying sunscreen on a daily basis is crucial. I also take care of my skin in cooler seasons by applying sunscreen or a moisturizer with SPF in it daily.

Seatbelts– Regardless of the duration of my drive or if I am a passenger in someone else’s vehicle I always buckle up.

Vacation– I live for vacation. For me is a great motivation tool + also is necessary mental break from the daily grind.

Besides eating well + getting physical what do you do to stay healthy?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “How I Stay Healthy

  1. peanutbutterfingers

    aside from eating healthy & doing something active every day, a big part of my overall health comes from spending quality time with those i love. by really enjoying puppy play time w/ my dog and cuddling up on the couch w/ my fiance, i feel happy, healthy and balanced. 🙂

  2. Those are great tips! My faith keeps me healthy and happy!

  3. I also work through anything stressful in my life instead of letting it eat away at me. Stress does a ton of damage to the body, so I figure I should deal with things up front. 🙂 It sounds easier than it actually is!

  4. i think thats a great question!
    mine are:
    .good oral hygiene and regular checkups
    .sunscreen every day (even in winter)! i have family history of skin cancer (even my little sister had a basal cell carcinoma) and extremely fair skin, its something i dont mess around with
    .crossword puzzles, reading, etc. – keeping my mind active

  5. I get regular sleep for my health and habits.

    I take my medications and supplements that I need for my mental and physical health.

    I keep challenging myself with exercise instead of getting stuck in a rut.

  6. Great post! The other ways I feel I’m staying “healthy”….spending quality time with my little guy and my husband, taking time out of my day to just “relax” – whether that be reading a good back outside in the sun or going for a leisurely walk:)

  7. foodlovingpolarbear

    A big part of being healthy for me is relaxing. I take at least one day a week just for me and it’s a great idea! Usually I spend my days running around at work and after work so it’s a much needed day off 🙂

  8. Living in Africa, I really focus on the hydration and the sunscreen! I drink about 120 oz. of water a day and wear sunscreen religiously (even though I am pretty sure I see new wrinkles on my face DAILY… stupid African sun!!!) Also, I sleep 8 hours a night, which my body needs, and workout every morning. I also try to walk a lot. Those are my health “principles” if you will… and of course, eating as healthy as possible, in my world without whole wheat products, good produce or Greek yogurt 🙂

  9. Popped in to say hi! Besides eating healthy and working out, I’m a fanatic about getting enough sleep!

  10. Love reading your tips on how you stay healthy. I stay healthy by tracking what I eat, cutting back on the sugar (I have such a sweet tooth) and exercising daily.

Leave a Reply

